Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
First batch I followed the recipe to the letter, it is very good as written. Second (and many batches later) I made the following adjustments after reading the other reviews. Changed the ratio of pistachios and cranberries (Craisins) to one cup each. Added the zest of one orange to each double recipe. Drizzled white chocolate melted with a bit of shortening over the top. I used a good serrated bread knife to do the slicing and had no problems whatsoever. A bread knife is serrated differently than a regular serrated knife. I baked on a silicone sheet rather than parchment paper, worked wonderfully. But don't slice on it! These were a huge success with the cookie exchange at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Great recipe. My only problem with it was that they came out way too sweet. The amount of cranberries (and I put less per other reviews)with the sugar was just too much. I made a second batch with about 1/3 less sugar and they were perfect. I also chopped the cranberries and pistachios for the 2nd batch and it worked great (1st batch whole cran and pist would fall out or be harder to cut).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Ok, I have made this three times now and it is a crowd pleaser! I do make alterations - but rating based on original posted recipe is still 5 stars following it exactly. If you love this as much as me consider trying these changes if you make them a second or third time - add 1 tbsp orange zest sub. for almond extract, slivered almonds sub for pistachio and 1/2 cup white choc. chips. Roll (it is very thick) and cut out. After baking, I used a pack of white chocolate chips, melted and added in two tablespoons of juice from an orange and 1 tablespoon of water. I poured the melted orange chocolate mixture into piping bag and decorated the cookies - they taste delicious and it is an easy recipe to sub in all your favourite ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I made these for Christmas gifts and vaccumed sealed them in jars and gave out-EVERYONE loved them-truly and gift from the heart and soooo good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blaine, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
For the first time in all of my seventy-four years I made these biscotti yesterday afternoon. Followed recipe EXACTLY and they are terrific!!! I followed others' suggestions to cut straight through and had no problem with crumbling. I'm sure I'll make another batch or two before the holidays. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Waleska, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe after having a pistachio & cranberry biscotti from the local bakery and it was just as good! It has become one of my favorite recipes. I came across some bags of fruit & nut trail mix on sale and used them with the same results - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
They came out great! I substituted slivered almonds for the pistachios. It's the first time I made biscottis. The dough is real gooey to work with, however they sure are tasty. Especially with an expresso after lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I've never made biscotti before. This is delicious and beautiful. I dipped some in white chocolate - it is so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
liked these with the olive oil; but took long to dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is so delicious! I'm usually not a big fan of biscotti but I was drawn by the pretty red green combo for Christmas. They are soooooo good- I made them just as directed and loved them! I did flatten the loaf a little bit before baking and used a serrated knife to cut it. I will be making this every year I'm sure. It was yummylicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 952) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States