Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These are mouth-wateringly delicious and so pretty to look at too! I followed the advise of the other reviewers and chopped the pistachios before adding them in (after chopping, the pistachios measured approx 1 cup). I also mildly chopped the cranberries to prevent them from chunking up in the dough (after chopping the cranberries measure 1 cup). The dough, is very very sticky so do keep dunking your hands in cold water when working with it. I didn't quite get 3 dozen but that's just my fault coz my logs weren't long enough and my slices a bit too thick. I did make 2 amendments to the recipe : I cut the sugar to 3-4 tablespoons (coz the dried cranberries I had were quite sweet), skipped adding almond extract and instead added 2 tablespoons of bitter orange marmalade. I do think it could do with more tang from orange zest so I'm going to add more in the next time I make these. I didn't drizzle with melted chocolate coz these were so great as is and I didn't to overpower the lovely shades of green, red and purple on the biscotti. Thanks for the recipe Gerry. And thank you so much all you great people who are thoughtful enough to leave your reviews! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
These are very tasty! I only used 1 cup of nuts and thought that was too much. Next time I'll decrease the nuts a bit more and add about a 1/4 cup more cranberries. With these changes, this is definitely a 5 star recipe. Make sure to use the damp hands to shape the loaf and cover with a towel after removing from the oven the first time. I had no trouble with the cookies cracking or breaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This was my first time making biscotti and it wasn't as awful as I thought it would be! THe dough is definitely sticky so wet your fingers. The only difficulty i had was making two decent size logs. I tend to be a perfectionist and want them both to look the same-- but that won't necessarily happen! Taste is great though ..did everything by the recipe. I used a serrated knife -- but may try and use my weight on the cutting aspect as oppose to sawing it back and forth (so it doesn't break and crumble too much). Other then that…definitely try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These are fabulous!!! I will try different nuts and fruits next time. This time I added craisins and white chocolate chips.... Delish!!!!!! I did need to increase baking time by 10 minutes but that was the only change needed. Thank you Gerry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
OMG!!!!!! This recipe is a 10!!! So easy... Followed recipe exactly..but I did add the orange zest which gave it that extra flavor. Can't wait to make for family & friends during the holidays!!! Thanks Gerry!! For sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Yummy! Will be using this recipe for Christmas cookie time. Thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly. The pistachio is a little much, I'll cut down by 1/2 c next time. Up the cranberries just slightly cause I love them. When the biscotti came out of the oven the first time, I covered them with a cloth to cool them slower. Also, the dough it really sticky, so I used a bowl of water to periodically wet my fingers. The dough didn't rise or move at all, so make it as wide or thick as you prefer. I did not get 36 servings, I got 23, but my biscotti were admittedly thick and tall. I dipped in melted chocolate chips and had with my coffee for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
this recipe is really great.. I use light olive oil so the taste isn't to strong, it works to beautifully :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe!!! this was really great..We loved it a lot..so yummy;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was simply the best! Everyone loved this biscotti. Even my mom, who makes amazing biscotti regularly, asked me for this recipe :) [the only modification: added 1/2 cup more flour to this recipe of 6 dozen servings (or 1/4 cup to the original 3 dozen servings...I made a ton because it was so popular!)]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States