Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The best Biscotti I ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I replaced the pistachios with slivered almonds and it was delicious. It was simple to make and the end product looked great. I made a second batch replacing the nuts with chocolate chips and it was delicious too, but not as good. I dipped them in melted chocolate and people said that it was better than any bakery. Note: I had to bake longer than 10 minutes the second time for each batch because the biscotti would not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were the best biscotti I ever made! I only had extra virgin olive oil so I used part evoo and vegetable oil, did not affect the taste. I also used almonds instead of pistachios. This is now my biscotti recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This biscotti came out great. I used the exact measurement of cranberry and pistachio as suggested by the recipe and feel like it was the perfect amount. I only had salted pistachios and was concerned that they would make the cookie too salty, so I rinsed them first. Next time I will not do that however, because I think the saltiness would have been nice. Because of the lack of saltiness, I felt like cookie needed something, so I mixed a little confectioners sugar with lemon juice and drizzled it over the biscotti. Looked very pretty and tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I love them! I used Extra Virgin Olive Oil, because my family loves EVOO. These are too good! They are great little Christmas cookies. The colors are great, and I really loved them. Not much else to eat them with than a cup of coffee or hot chocolate, which is fine because tomorrow for breakfast, these are going to be gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe has great potential but needs major improvements. I made my first batch following directions even though the oven temperatures seemed low to me. I love pistachios but wondered about the cost of that many nuts. I used dried cranberries and candied kiwi fruit slices I found in my local grocery store. I cut the candied kiwi slices into little pieces. The results tasted good but weren't dry enough, etc. I am making a second batch now with changes. I added a little more flour and am cooking them at 350°, as recommended by Joy of Cooking. The loaves are out of the oven now and are nice and brownish. In a few minutes I will slice them and bake the slices at 350° per Joy of Cooking. I know they will make great Christmas presents. I think biscotti made with the original recipe probably won't be dry enough to keep long without getting moldy. Make my changes and you will have a ten-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was a very easy recipe to follow and served as my introduction to making biscotti. Everyone loved them, and I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I've made this biscotti recipe a dozen times and always follow the recipe exactly. I've get so many compliments. I'm Italian and this reminds me of the biscotti my grandmas made. The red and green color are very festive. This has become a family recipe that will be passed down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe is awesome! To make it a little bit more Christmas-y, I used orange flavored cranberries and added a couple drops of Balsam Fir Needle essential oil. It's like an Xmas O in your mouth ;) Everyone at work asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was the best biscotti cookie I ever made! I have tried many biscotti recipes, and none of them can touch this one. It was easy to make; the hint of wetting your hands while shaping the logs worked wonderfully! They were sweet, but not too sweet. I followed the recipe exactly with a tad less pistachios, but only because the amount I bought was a little shy of the full amount. I don't think this lack altered the taste at all. I did have to bake them a lot longer for the first baking time, but I'm not sure my oven was working well. I baked them until they were a little browned, let them rest for about 10 minutes, then cut them. I had no problem with the cookies splitting when cutting them. I used a chef's knife, and pressed down on the handle and blade to make a clean cut. I also baked them the second time about 12 minutes, but again, it could have been my oven acting up. My husband had one, and said they were the best biscotti he ever had, even better than the Italian bakeries here. I'm going to hide them, as I want to serve them at Christmas. I will definitely make these again. Oh.....I did roughly chop the pistachios and cranberries before incorporating them into the batter. These are DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States