Cranberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This surely is a delicious holiday pie. Instead of a pinch each cinnamon and nutmeg, I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The taste of combined spices and orange rind makes it almost perfect. May add some more cranberries and increase a little bit cooking time, but will definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My husband adored this pie. Even though I'm not a big cranberry fan, I thought the flavor and texture were exceptional. I did find, however, that I had to bake the pie for much longer than recommended in the recipe--nearly an hour and a half--for the filling to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I use this recipe for tarts as opposed to pies (easier to eat) and have taken them to several gatherings, where I have been asked by at least 7 people for the recipe. Thanks for sharing Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a really nice surprise.I didn't expect it to be as good as it was.The only thing I'll change next time is cook for 5 to 10 min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This wasn't quite what I expected, but it's very good. It's more like a sweet custard pie with a layer of cranberries. I used two cups of frozen cranberries for a stronger flavor. This is a great way to use up those cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This was a great ending to a special dinner. The pie tasted like a sweet cranberry bread and had the consistency of a tollhouse cookie pie. Everyone loved it with whipped cream on top from my two year old to grandpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Quick easy and delicious. I think of this as a cranberry chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was so tasty! I loved the combination of cranberries and orange zest. Yum! I actually made mini-pies out of this (lined muffin tins with pie crust, added pie filling and baked for 35-40 minutes--watch it carefully in the last few minutes), and plan on baking a full size pie this afternoon. This recipe will be the first one I go to whenever I'm in charge of bringing a pie to something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
My vet and her staff love anything cranberry. Of everything that I have made them, this is their all time favorite and it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe and plan on making it again the next time I have an excuse to make a pie. My pie came out with a nice creamy texture and it was delicious. I tweaked it a tiny bit for personal preference by cutting the cranberries in half and letting them sit for a while mixed with 1/4 cup of the sugar called for- I think this mellowed the sweet-tart contrast a little without making it bland by any means. I did only use a bottom crust for mine, and even still it took a bit longer to set than the recipe states. I have a few slices in the freezer for later- they take a while to thaw but are just as good even after storing which is great if you're the only cranberry fanatic in your house like me. Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States