Cranberry Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This surely is a delicious holiday pie. Instead of a pinch each cinnamon and nutmeg, I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg. The taste of combined spices and orange rind makes it almost perfect. May add some more cranberries and increase a little bit cooking time, but will definitely bake it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
My husband adored this pie. Even though I'm not a big cranberry fan, I thought the flavor and texture were exceptional. I did find, however, that I had to bake the pie for much longer than recommended in the recipe--nearly an hour and a half--for the filling to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I use this recipe for tarts as opposed to pies (easier to eat) and have taken them to several gatherings, where I have been asked by at least 7 people for the recipe. Thanks for sharing Sara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a really nice surprise.I didn't expect it to be as good as it was.The only thing I'll change next time is cook for 5 to 10 min longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2003
This wasn't quite what I expected, but it's very good. It's more like a sweet custard pie with a layer of cranberries. I used two cups of frozen cranberries for a stronger flavor. This is a great way to use up those cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This was a great ending to a special dinner. The pie tasted like a sweet cranberry bread and had the consistency of a tollhouse cookie pie. Everyone loved it with whipped cream on top from my two year old to grandpa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was so tasty! I loved the combination of cranberries and orange zest. Yum! I actually made mini-pies out of this (lined muffin tins with pie crust, added pie filling and baked for 35-40 minutes--watch it carefully in the last few minutes), and plan on baking a full size pie this afternoon. This recipe will be the first one I go to whenever I'm in charge of bringing a pie to something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
My vet and her staff love anything cranberry. Of everything that I have made them, this is their all time favorite and it's so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Quick easy and delicious. I think of this as a cranberry chess pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sreengleen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe and plan on making it again the next time I have an excuse to make a pie. My pie came out with a nice creamy texture and it was delicious. I tweaked it a tiny bit for personal preference by cutting the cranberries in half and letting them sit for a while mixed with 1/4 cup of the sugar called for- I think this mellowed the sweet-tart contrast a little without making it bland by any means. I did only use a bottom crust for mine, and even still it took a bit longer to set than the recipe states. I have a few slices in the freezer for later- they take a while to thaw but are just as good even after storing which is great if you're the only cranberry fanatic in your house like me. Thanks for this recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fanciful Unicorn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Blackberry Pie I

See how to make a simple pie using fresh or frozen blackberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States