Cranberry Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
I made this pie last year (2000) for Thanksgiving and got raves from almost 20 guests. Also many requests from the recipe. I can't wait to sink my teeth into it again this year. It has definitely become a part of our family Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I normally don't like pecan pie because it's too sweet, but I made it because my husband likes it and the cranberries make it festive. The cranberries also add a tiny bit of tartness to the pie which was nice. It also added a little bit of color peaking out from between the pecans. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this pie with very high hopes, but alas, I didn't like it at all. The combination of flavors just isn't to my taste. I love pecans, and I love cranberry, but not together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe was so good. The cranberries helps the pie not to be too sweet. I definitely plan to make this during holidays .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
************************************************ This is a wonderful recipe. Its a new way to add cranberries to the holidays. My family calls me a "pie snob" because I bake a lot of pies and I am very picky. I think the cranberries are a perfect compliment to the pecan pie. I have made this recipe 3 times and everyone that I served it to gave it rave reviews. This pie will be one I make for every holiday. I will also make it for myself!! I AM picky and I would give this pie 10 stars if I could. Carolyn, Bless your heart for sharing this recipe with us. ************************************************
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious; not too sweet, not too tart. I think I did something wrong because mine was very, very liquid after the suggested cooking time (plus some), but even then it tasted magnificent. A couple of days later it had solidified a lot and was even better. Does anyone know what could have gone wrong? The cranberries just seemed to meld with the liquid mixture and create a soup-like filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This pie came out pretty but did not fill my pie pan. It was a nice change from your normal pecan pie. The cranberry really helps cut the sweetness of a traditional pecan pie. It was well received but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNAMON12
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Cranberry pecan pie turned out really well! The cranberry bits bubble up as the pie is baked, creating a festive red color. Everyone at our Christmas dinner really enjoyed it and thought the cranberries added a layer of complexity, while taking off the overly sweet edge of a traditional pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I really wanted to like this pie, because I'm not a huge Pecan Pie fan, but my husband is. Neither of us were impressed by this pie. I because the flavor of the Mace was overwhelming, him because he felt like I ruined a perfectly good Pecan Pie with the cranberries. This pie wasn't a "quick sell" in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoneyBee
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious! The cranberries were tart to balance the sweet, which is what we like. The pie was soft and warm even after one hour. I don't know if it takes longer to cool than others as I haven't done a pecan pie in a few decades. I didn't know if the term "mix" when combining the sugars, eggs, butter, and all, was with a mixer or by hand. I used the mixer until it was blended. I hope I didn't overblend it and that's why it was soft. I'll have to do some research on pecan pies before I bake this again. Hubby said he would like more cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States