Cranberry Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
The local cafe makes a version of this with white corn syrup and it is my favorite. So happy to have the recipe. I made it as written, but baked for 1 hr 10 minutes as it did not want to set. Even though I wiatied until completely cooled it still was slightly liquid. I may put a teaspoon for cornstarch in there next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HoneyBee
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Delicious! The cranberries were tart to balance the sweet, which is what we like. The pie was soft and warm even after one hour. I don't know if it takes longer to cool than others as I haven't done a pecan pie in a few decades. I didn't know if the term "mix" when combining the sugars, eggs, butter, and all, was with a mixer or by hand. I used the mixer until it was blended. I hope I didn't overblend it and that's why it was soft. I'll have to do some research on pecan pies before I bake this again. Hubby said he would like more cranberries, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I really wanted to like this pie, because I'm not a huge Pecan Pie fan, but my husband is. Neither of us were impressed by this pie. I because the flavor of the Mace was overwhelming, him because he felt like I ruined a perfectly good Pecan Pie with the cranberries. This pie wasn't a "quick sell" in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CYNAMON12
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Cranberry pecan pie turned out really well! The cranberry bits bubble up as the pie is baked, creating a festive red color. Everyone at our Christmas dinner really enjoyed it and thought the cranberries added a layer of complexity, while taking off the overly sweet edge of a traditional pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This pie came out pretty but did not fill my pie pan. It was a nice change from your normal pecan pie. The cranberry really helps cut the sweetness of a traditional pecan pie. It was well received but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
This recipe was delicious; not too sweet, not too tart. I think I did something wrong because mine was very, very liquid after the suggested cooking time (plus some), but even then it tasted magnificent. A couple of days later it had solidified a lot and was even better. Does anyone know what could have gone wrong? The cranberries just seemed to meld with the liquid mixture and create a soup-like filling...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
************************************************ This is a wonderful recipe. Its a new way to add cranberries to the holidays. My family calls me a "pie snob" because I bake a lot of pies and I am very picky. I think the cranberries are a perfect compliment to the pecan pie. I have made this recipe 3 times and everyone that I served it to gave it rave reviews. This pie will be one I make for every holiday. I will also make it for myself!! I AM picky and I would give this pie 10 stars if I could. Carolyn, Bless your heart for sharing this recipe with us. ************************************************
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This recipe was so good. The cranberries helps the pie not to be too sweet. I definitely plan to make this during holidays .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
I made this pie with very high hopes, but alas, I didn't like it at all. The combination of flavors just isn't to my taste. I love pecans, and I love cranberry, but not together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DFLOROM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
I normally don't like pecan pie because it's too sweet, but I made it because my husband likes it and the cranberries make it festive. The cranberries also add a tiny bit of tartness to the pie which was nice. It also added a little bit of color peaking out from between the pecans. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Irresistible Pecan Pie

See how to make a sweet, rich, totally irresistible pecan pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States