Cranberry Orange Wheat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
These scones are made for whole wheat flour and thus give a nice consistency and taste. They are crisper than many scone recipes, so some may want a lighter scone. We liked 'em.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Less orange zest (too bitter) and I would add more orange juice, hint of cinnamon and hint of lemon extract. Also a note...make 2 small circles to make smaller scones. One circle made the "triangles" too large, and be sure to place far apart, they grow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I did half white flour, half whole wheat as others suggested. Also added a glaze (powdered sugar with orange juice) which I think they needed for sweetness. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I replaced 1 cup of the wheat for unbleached all purpose flour and used cinnamon instead of nutmeg. They were delicious! I also patted the dough into circles and cut the scones into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I followed almost exactly, Couple of days before I put zest in sugar thinking it would "candy", I think it just added a little more sugar to the mix. I ground my own flour (1st time) and because of this my dough was pretty sticky but I managed to cut and get them on the pan, mine seem more like a cookie than scone, I like how they turned out. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
A little on the dry side but of course you're going to expect it from the www/wheat germ. But these healthy scones has potential. All I need is a healthy spread or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These are pretty good. I didn't have a round muffin cutter, so I used a cookie cutter shaped like a big candy corn (a triangle really). Next time I think I will shape by hand so they look more appealing. Just a tad bitter from the orange zest. Next time I think I will use just a little more orange juice and add a touch more brown sugar. Good healthy recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Absolutely delicious. I used wheat bran instead of wheat germ and butter instead of shortening. Very grainy, healthy texture, and they aren't loaded with sugar. Just be careful not to overcook them--they may get dry. Mine only took 6 minutes in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe as-is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made quite a few changes, but they were really yummy. I thought using all whole wheat would be too heavy (although I should try it and see!) but I used 1 cup AP flour and the rest whole wheat. My wheat germ was bad so I used ground flax seed, and I subbed sour cream for most of the milk since I had a lot. I used half butter/half shortening and threw in a bit of coconut oil and also added some protein powder for good measure. I made a glaze like some suggested with OJ and powdered sugar and they were super good... without the glaze I think they would need some butter or something. I also didn't roll them out I just spooned them out like big cookies. But I LOVE cranberry orange scones and this was a nice healthier take on them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States