Cranberry Orange Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This is a delicious recipe--I poured about a 1/2 cup glaze of orange juice, powdered sugar, & vanilla over the loaf while it was still in the pan--just adds another layer of flavor to an already great mix of tart & sweet. Thanks Carol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Oh My God! This is a beautiful bread, both in taste and aesthetic. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and mixed up a simple glaze of orange juice, vanilla and confectioners sugar, drizzling it over the top while the loaf is still hot. Gives it a gorgeous shine, and an initial sweet taste with the after tart of the cranberry. If you're looking for a nice large loaf, for breakfast or afternoon tea...THIS IS THE ONE YOU'RE LOOKING FOR! I will never use any recipe but this from now on...not even Nana's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Josey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Wow! I think I have ended my search for a cranberry bread recipe. This bread is just perfect, moist, relatively lowfat, and has lots of cranberries. I found that the recipe makes a large loaf that took a longer time to bake than specified. So, the next time I made it, I just doubled the batch and made 3 loaves and they baked perfectly. Also, a double batch uses exactly one bag of fresh/frozen cranberries. Another thing I did to improve the recipe was to drizzle the top with a powdered sugar icing (milk, vanilla, powdered sugar.) This icing hardened nicely, and the result was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This is an awesome recipe. I cut my cranberries in half, did a double batch, & baked it in 3 loaf pans, as suggested by one of the reviewers, since my oven seems to be a little slow. My 3 loaves were done in 55 minutes. The flavor while still warm is amazing & it is still great after it cools. It is a rich, well-balanced flavor. It slices well after it cools completely. This recipe is a keeper, & when I do it again I will try using 3 8"x4" loaf pans. I found the texture to be nice & my bread turned out nicely moist. Thank you to Carol & to the reviewers who had such good suggestions. P.S. I tried the smaller loaf pans & the loaves came out taller, which I wanted. They baked in 50 minutes. The smaller size is easier to wrap in standard width plastic wrap, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is outstanding! I used 5.75" X 3.25" pans (for gifts). The recipe made 3 gift loaves and they were a HUGE hit! I chopped the frozen cranberries in a food processor -- they mixed with the orange juice to make the bread a beautiful peachy color. Even with the smaller pans, they took about an hour to bake. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I was a little worried when I tasted the cranberries (I'd never had "raw" cranberries before, and were they bitter!), but it came out fabulous. Stealthily addictive: you keep coming back for one more piece or morsel without realizing it. It smelled fantastic cooking, and is a great combination use of in-season winter fruits - cranberries & oranges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
*I substituted splenda baking blend in this recipie. I found this recipie very easy to make, and it didn't take very long, either. While the cranberries were a little more sour than expected, (perhaps halving them would help?) it was still a family-pleaser. I made this twice, and the second time i doubled the amount of grated orange zest, and I have to say, I think that evened out the cranberry. All in all it was fantastic and has proabbly made it's way into the "traditional" holiday recipies for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Noble, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This really is an excellent recipe! It should be illegal its so good! The reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 is because it seemed to need a bit more polishing for my tastes. First, I rough chopped the cranberries because I know that biting into a whole cranberry can be offputting if you're not expecting that bitterness. Second, I substituted melted butter, not margarine and lastly I added another egg, a touch of vanilla and left out the nuts. Rather than "beating in" the flour, I just gave it a nice stir with a spatula until the flour was "just" combined. Otherwise, your cranberries can break and run. This bread was really taken up to the final notch with a glaze of powdered sugar, orange juice, orange zest and a touch of vanilla.. I drizzled it on the loaves when it was mildly warm. So nice and festive and perfect for small gifts in decorative mini loaf pans... thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I make this bread all the time, usually without the nuts. Turns out beautifully every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
Made this recipe for the daycare center kids where I work. Went over fairly well. I substituted fresh minced orange peel for the orange zest and added a little more orange juice since batter seemed a little thick. The density was very good and bread was moist. I would suggest using canned whole cranberry sauce in place of fresh cranberries for a more richer and sweeter taste. It also tastes better left in the refrigerator for a day or two. Overall good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 600) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States