Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
A very nice, light alternative to all the heavy iced sugar and chocolate cookies at the holidays! Went over very well with both genders and various ages. I followed this pretty much exactly, except that I added a little extra orange zest to the batter (1 1/2 tsp) and added a little more flour (1/4 cup) as some reviews advised. I also used fresh cranberries, pulsed in the food processor, and about a tsp of vanilla. DO NOT add more flour if you're not at a high altitude. Yes, the batter will look a little greasy, but it'll be fine. More flour makes it taste, well, floury. They're right about overcooking, though. This is a light cookie, almost cake-like. As soon as the edges turn brown, take them out. Also, if you really want 4 dozen cookies out of this, forget "rounded tablespoon" size. Try a big rounded teaspoon - about walnut size. They cook better and more evenly and they're still plenty big. I didn't do the frosting, but might next time. I don't like super-sweet cookies, but these aren't anywhere near super-sweet. They're tangy and light and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mizzbett
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were very good...took everyone's advice and added 1/2 cup more flour plus 1/2 tsp almond extract along with the egg. I also reduced the amount of white sugar from 1 cup to 3/4. Used slivered almonds for the nuts, but will probably use toasted walnuts or pecans next time I make them for more flavor - and there will definitely be a next time! Good recipe!!! Adding it to my Christmas cookie arsenal! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzbett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosedale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hurlock, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These were delicious! I didn't add the walnuts, but I think I might try it next time just to cut the overall sweet/tart flavor of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Sicne orange and vanilla complement each other so well, I am going to try adding vanilla the next time I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Definetly need to use more flour....they spread even after I kept them in the fridge to chill. Or, instead of 1 cup of butter, next time I will use 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine. I ended up adding 4 total cups of flour. Also added white chocolate chips to the dough....YUMMO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I followed the advice of Dona1000 and these cookies are amazing!! I tried them with and without the icing. I definitely prefer without. With icing was way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Made these last night and my husband (who is NOT a dessert eater...) ate 4 in a row! They are outstanding! Followed recipe exactly except added a bit less than 1/2 tsp. almond flavoring. They puffed up beautifully and were simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I absolutely loved this cookie, and usually i done really eat the cookies I make. However, for these i use a whole bag of frozen cranberries which was about 12oz total. To chop them I ran them through the food processor for a second or two. In addition to that i add a tablespoon of orange zest. These cookies are so fragrant .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I like to try a new cookie every year, I wish I found this one a long ago. The cookie dough was so good I had to hurry and bake them. They will be here every Xmas and in between. They are SSSOOOOOO good. Thank you. By the way I really don't usually leave a rating. You are the first. Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great taste and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States