Cranberry Orange Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an excellent cookie. Both the orange and cranberry flavors have some zing to them. Yields more than 60 when using small size scooper. Gets crunchy when cool. No need to put more zest in the icing - easy and perfect without it. The recipe makes much more icing than necessary - don't double if doubling the recipe. Freezes beautifully. Really lovely addition to my holiday baking! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because they cookies turned out very cakey. Not at all cookie-like. The only thing I changed in the recipe was to change the temperature (down to 350F, as someone had recommended) and added some almonds. I think the problem might be in the amount of cranberries. "2 cups chopped cranberries" is 2 cups cranberries after they have been chopped, but "2 cups cranberries, chopped" is a very different amount. I wonder if the recipe is calling for the latter but is written incorrectly. As for taste, I have to disagree with the "too sweet" claims. I tried the cookies without the glaze, and (especially with the cake-like texture), it tasted just like cranberry orange bread. Too tart for a cookie. The glaze (when added in moderation, such as the picture above, not slathered all over it like a sugar cookie) adds just the right amount of sweet to make it a cookie. Just wish the texture was better. I will definitely make these again, although I will try to tweak it next time. These cookies are much easier to make than the cranberry orange pinwheels we usually make every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Amazing, beautiful, tasty, gone before you know it! It is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I needed a recipe at the last minute for a cookie exchange and tried this one. It is excellent and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is great - everyone loves them! You may want to reduce the amount of zest you use - it does have a strong flavor - but very good either way. Definately top with the drizzle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are awesome without the glaze, but the glaze does give a better presentation. I made them with dried cranberries, pulsed in food processor with very small amount of water to rehydrate. They came out GREAT! So, they can be made year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These cookies are heavenly. I tried these for the first time this holiday season and did not change a thing! Perfect as written! Tastes like I am eating a cran-orange scone from whole foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These were quite possibly the BEST cookies I have ever had! I was so impressed! Everyone that tried them absolutely loved them! The only thing I changed was to add a little more orange zest and juice into the cookie dough. I didn't have any confectioners sugar either so I made an orange sugar glaze and brushed over the top of the cookie. They were awesome! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Just bought the ingredients for theses today. These cookies are excellent! Love them at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarabarra
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
oh my oh my :) so yummy... added extra orange zest and flour like they said and turned out perfect for my friend's xmas presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarabarra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camano Island, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 690) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States