Cranberry Orange Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Now a family favorite! I made this the first time, but threw in about 1/8C sugar because I feared the "yeast" would not do its thing without sugar! The second time, I followed another reviewer's advice and increased the cranberries and the walnuts, and I like it even better. I also discovered that this bread is actually better after a couple of days....the problem is, it doesn't last that long!!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I've made this recipe 3 times now and it is absolutely wonderful. Based on my first "trial run" of the recipe, I recommend adding an additional 1/2 cup cranberries and 1/3 cup walnuts. I made the recipe 2 more times with those additional ingredients and it got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Absolutely wonderful, so moist and tasty. I didn't put in the walnut this time, but cannot wait to make it again. the girls at work rated it a 10!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This is SO good! I replaced 1 cup of bread flour with wheat flour, and added some dried currants to make up for not enough dried cranberries. I also added about 1/4 cup sugar along with honey and baked it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
Thanks for this excellent recipe. We have been buying cranberry-orange bread at "Costco" (quite expensive), but this is as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
Made this bread for holiday gift giving. It's delicous. My only changes were to use half whole wheat flour and toasted pecans in place of the walnuts as I had some leftover from another recipe. Great toasted for breakfast. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Very good! Love the flavors and texture the walnuts add. Did substitute 1 c whole wheat flour and soaked cranberries in warm water before adding. Definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I made this yesterday in my bread machine, ate the last few slices for breakfast this morning toasted and spread with cream cheese, it was great!!! I used fresh squeezed orange juice and cranberries and walnuts, accidentally used too much allspice and it was still wonderful. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I loved this recipe but I do not have a bread machine! I converted this to the traditional method, and thought I would share it: 1 cup orange juice 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast, proofed by package directions 3 cups bread flour 1 tablespoon dry milk powder 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 2 teaspoons vanilla extract 1 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 tablespoons grated orange zest 1 1/2 cups sweetened dried cranberries Proof the yeast according to package directions. Allow it to sit until thick and frothy. Combine Orange Juice, vegetable oil and yeast, set aside. In a seperate bowl, combine all dry ingredients, orange zest and cranberries and add gradually to wet ingredients. Combine as well as you can, then knead the dough on a floured surface until smooth and soft. Place back into the bowl, cover, and leave in a warm area to rise until doubled. When dough has risen, punch it down and shape into a loaf. Place it in a greased loaf pan, or, for a round loaf, on a greased baking sheet. Rise again until doubled. Bake at 350 degrees for around 45-50 minutes, or until bread is golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Great for the holidays! If you like hot cross buns or panettone I think you'll really enjoy this. I used cherry flavored craisins which tasted great with the other ingredients and I especially loved the taste and texture of the nuts in the loaf. This bread also freezes very well. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States