Cranberry Orange Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Excellent taste and even better the second day. Unfortunately the dough was so thick, my bread maker took a dive off the kitchen counter and now we have to replace it; however, the bread is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Great tasting bread! After trying this recipe a couple of times, I decided to try dissolving the honey in half a cup of warm water and letting the yeast proof for 5 minutes before adding warmed 5 oz orange juice and the oil, then the remaining ingredients (I didn't use any nuts). The dough rises much better this way. I've also divided the dough after the first rise and made 3 mini loaves to give away as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
We went completely old school with this. My daughter helped me squeeze fresh oranges, which I also zested, and I didn't have allspice, so I kooked that up and mixed it together, too. I didn't have any walnuts, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluej51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This recipe is excellent! Very flavorful, and healthy too (love that it was honey and not sugar!). This was my first loaf made in my bread maker, I'd say it was a huge success! I would recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I added more cranberries than called for, which I suppose could have been a mistake since it was hard to incorporate them all into the bread. However, it worked out just fine for me because I got tons of cranberry flavor in the entire loaf. I used fresh cranberries, so shouldve upped the sugar a bit--no matter, this is great with jam for added sweetness. Or, my plan is to make a turkey sandwich with cranberry sauce. Yum! Very pretty, very simple loaf of bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Fabulous bread. The zest was the perfect amount of orange and it smells wonderful. Great with tea in the afternoon. I omitted the walnuts but otherwise followed the recipe to a T, and am very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I have tried many orange cranberry bread recipes, but this one is by far the best! I made it in my bread machine set on sweet, conversion for the yeast = 2 tsp bread machine yeast. The first batch was made exactly as per recipe. My house smelled amazing! It tasted wonderful. The second batch I change 1 c. of the flour to whole wheat flour, and added 1/4 c. ground flax, about 3/4 c. chopped dates, and a pinch more orange zest. Once again, really delicious, a bit healthier, and as toast - wow! I won't be bothering to try any more orange cranberry recipes because this one can't be topped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I loved this recipe but I do not have a bread machine! I converted this to the traditional method, and thought I would share it: 1 cup orange juice 2 tablespoons vegetable oil 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast, proofed by package directions 3 cups bread flour 1 tablespoon dry milk powder 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon 2 teaspoons vanilla extract 1 teaspoon salt 1 1/2 tablespoons grated orange zest 1 1/2 cups sweetened dried cranberries Proof the yeast according to package directions. Allow it to sit until thick and frothy. Combine Orange Juice, vegetable oil and yeast, set aside. In a seperate bowl, combine all dry ingredients, orange zest and cranberries and add gradually to wet ingredients. Combine as well as you can, then knead the dough on a floured surface until smooth and soft. Place back into the bowl, cover, and leave in a warm area to rise until doubled. When dough has risen, punch it down and shape into a loaf. Place it in a greased loaf pan, or, for a round loaf, on a greased baking sheet. Rise again until doubled. Bake at 350 degrees for around 45-50 minutes, or until bread is golden brown and sounds hollow when tapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
made this twice and neither time did it come out very good. not sure what i did wrong but just didnt work. it tast pretty good probably much better in the oven then in the bread machine it didnt cook right for me. will try again when i get more cranberrys....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Great Bread!! I am no fan of cranberries, but my family is, so I decided to try this recipe. I'm not sure there will be any left for them!! I LOVE IT!! I don't have a bread machine, so I modified it to a more traditional method. I also lacked a few ingredients and made substitutions (dried grated orange peel for zest, veggie protein powder for milk powder, applesauce for oil, regular flour for bread flour). Fantastic recipe, easy, flexible, and so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States