Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This turned out amazing. I noticed one reviewer indicated their loaf was dry - I used a full cup of orange juice and used frozen cranberries and increased the cranberries to 2 cups. My loaf was really moist and I got rave reviews at work at a pot-luck. I will definitely be making this one a lot.....I also left out the nuts because of allergies and I don't think anyone minded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greywolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I just made this bread and it turned out great. I used 1 cup of light brown sugar instead of white. I also put whole 12oz bag of fresh cranberries without chopping them. Although fresh cranberries are tart, I think it works out great in combination with sweet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This just came out of the oven, and WOW is it good. I made a small loaf and a mini loaf. The mini baked for 40 minutes at 350 and the small loaf was done in 50 minutes. As I baked this for a gift, for a friend who can't have nuts, I added pomegranite seeds as a substitute for a little crunch. I also added a tsp of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp each of ginger & vanilla. Very yummy, moist and orangey. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe last year and thought it was too try for my taste even though hubby loved it. I tried it again this week and it turned out wonderfully after making some changes. I used self-rising flour and decreased the amount to 1 3/4 cups, grated 2 oranges for the zest and melted the butter rather than in chunks. Sugar was reduced by couple table spoons. I also lined my loaf pan with parchment paper so the edges could stay nice & moist, not overly crusty. And a dash of cinnamon certainly helped with the lovely aroma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
A very good recipe! I increased the orange juice to 1 cup and added a tsp of cinnamon, but otherwise didn't change anything except that I used dried cranberries. It's moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I just got finished making this bread. I love the combination of orange and cranberries. The bread texture and taste was nice. I used fresh cranberries and I thought they came out a bit over tart. Next time I will use dried cranberries and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
just made muffins out of this recipe and we are really enjoying them. i omitted the nuts because i don't have any and i don't think it took away from the recipe at all. i used frozen cranberries chopped in half, trader joe's organic sugar and unrefined, unbleached flour for extra fiber, followed the recipe portions exactly and they are not dry at all. the texture is great and the smell when they were baking was wonderful. they were ready in exactly 20 minutes, so not only super easy but super quick too. good to have around for a grab-and-go breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a coarse coffee bread. I found the flavor to be fine as written, only change I made was to increase orange juice to a scant cup. I used dried cranberries, and did not take the time to presoak them. I think I've become used to some of the newer coffee breads which are moister, and at first was surprised, almost thinking this bread was on the dry side. After my second piece slathered with cream cheese, I decided it's not - it's a "coffee bread" in the old fashioned sense of the term.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I didn't change a thing and the family loved it. I will definitely make this again and again. It's very pretty on the table too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Wonderful. Made it last year and became an instant favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States