Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I did it with fresh cranberries but I put a little sugar on them first (like you would do with strawberries) to cut the tartness. Everyone who likes cranberry/orange anything LOVES this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was pretty good - definitely super moist (almost too much so). I substituted one cup of whole wheat flour, used vanilla fat free greek yogurt in place of the sour cream. Next time I might try to substitude applesauce for half the butter, or just cut the butter down a bit. The can of oranges I opened were huge slices, so I cut them into each into three pieces. Next time, I might add nuts, or some type of crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Oh My Goodness is was so perfect!Thank you for sharing the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Artisha Pacheco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My husband and I loved this. It tasted more like poundcake than bread, but it was still delicious. Next time I'll try to use fresh cranberries instead of dried cranberries (although I did soak them in hot water to try and plump them up a bit!). I think I may try to make them as muffins as well by using cake flour and by whipping the egg whites, folding it into the recipe, and then adding in the yolks. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I improvised a little bit with this recipe, and it turned out great! I had fresh cranberries and mandarin oranges on hand, so I used those (cutting the cranberries in half, and the oranges into small pieces). I also substituted orange flavored greek yogurt for the sour cream, and added about a half cup of white chocolate chips. For the most part, the white chocolate chips melted and just about disappeared into the bread, but they gave it a really great flavor. I didn't have any orange extract, so I just used some zest from one of my oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this tonight and it is DELICIOUS!!! I used Coconut Oil instead of butter and since I don't have any loaf pans (gasp!) I used a bundt cake pan and baked it for 50 minutes. It could have probably used another 5 minutes in the oven because a small part of it was not raw exactly, but just a little bit too moist. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms Mewowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I made a few modifications for a slightly healthier version without compromising the flavor. I substituted equal parts whole wheat bread flour for the all-purpose flour, used 1 cup of brown sugar instead of white sugar, craisins instead of fresh which I soaked in OJ substituted for milk, and instead of butter I used coconut oil. Also added in some walnuts for a crunch. Super moist and delicious and just the right amount of sweet. Great with coffee/tea or an afternoon snack. This will be my go to recipe for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I cut this recipe back by half. The recipe did not specify which kind of cranberries I should use, I used dried. Instead of milk, I used orange juice and I increased the flour to a cup and a half for a HALVED RECIPE. The batter for this was incredibly moist even with the additional flour. I made muffins out of this recipe, I did get 12 regular sized muffins out of a halved recipe. This took 22 minutes to bake at 350* and even then, I'm not really happy with the end result. The muffins turned out incredibly spongy and really.......wet looking plus the texture is odd. I think maybe this recipe could have benefited from an additional quarter cup or half cup over what I had added. I don't know that I would try this again to find out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
So my sister announced an impromptu game night at her place and I was in need of something edible to bring and share. After a frantic internet search I found this cranberry orange bread recipe. I had most of the ingredients on hand, with suitable substitutes to make it work with my vegan diet... so cranberry orange bread it is! YAY! I may or may not have eaten half the finished batch of bread all by myself... maybe. ok, so I did. -_- Here are the changes I made: I used raw cane sugar in place of white sugar and used 1/2 a cup less than called for. I subbed Earth Balance for the butter, orange juice in place of the milk, non dairy yogurt instead of sour cream, Ener-G in place of the eggs, I dropped the orange extract (because I didn't have it) and added an extra cup of cranberries (all of which I roughly chopped). I made one big batch in an 8x8 pan because it's all I could find so it took quite a bit longer to cook. As other reviewers mentioned, definitely let this bread cool COMPLETELY before you tear into it. Not only will it save your tongue and mouth from being melted off by the *hotter than molten lava* cranberries, but it also tastes LIGHT YEARS better once it's cooled! I will definitely be making this again, soon! What came home from game night was quickly devoured by my 15 year old who LOVED it! Maybe next time we'll even share with everyone else! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Incredibly moist, delicious and full of flavor. Doubled the vanilla, and like one reviewer sprinkled the buttered pan and the top of the loaves with cinnamon sugar, and some coarse sugar on top, which gave a nice subtle crust and lovely finish. The end product doesn't need any extra butter or cream cheese on top, unlike many fruit breads I've tried before. Made it for the first time on Christmas and it was a HUGE hit; will undoubtedly be making it many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States