Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I used slightly more than 1 cup of dried cranberries, slivered almonds instead of walnuts, and added vanilla to the wet ingredients. I also made a glaze out of powdered sugar and orange juice and drizzled that over top. The bread has a wonderful moist but dense texture and is very fruity and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I did as someone else suggested and cooked my frozen cranberries just until they popped open before folding them into the batter. I also added about 1/4 tsp of orange extract because I didn't have the orange zest. This bread is *very* good. I'm pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good! I didn't have access to fresh or frozen cranberries so I used a bit less than 1 cup of dried, and I thought it could have used more. I also threw in a dash of cinnamon, and might add more next time. Very good; Co workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Absolutely wonderful bread! It really hits the spot when you're snowed in during the winter in and has a nice hearty texture. Orange extract works well if you don't have an orange handy for the peel. Used 1/2 tsp. Making it again tomorrow. This will be a regular until I've used up my cranberries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made a few alterations to this recipe, not because there is anything wrong with the recipe as written, but because I didn't have all the ingredients and I still wanted to try it. I used 1 cup of dried cranberries instead of fresh, and because of this, I upped the amount of orange juice to a full cup. I did not have any fresh oranges to zest, so I put in a heaping spoonful of orange marmalade instead since it's main ingredient is orange zest. Because I used the marmalade, I mixed all the wet ingredients in a blender to insure that they'd mix evenly. I also sprinkled some almond slivers and coarse sugar crystals on the top before baking it, which gave the top a delightful crunch. This bread came out great, even with the alterations. I can't wait to try it again with fresh cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
fabulous fabulous fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this bread. I've never made cranberry bread before but I'll be making this one again. I only gave 4 stars as I altered the recipe slightly but definitely worth the time spent making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious!! Sweet, tart, orangey....nice hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yum! I tried making these into mini loaves and I left them in the oven for 35 mintues which wasn't enough time but the loaf I made in a regular size loaf pan was wonderful so I'll have top play with the time on the mini loaves (they sunk since they were undercooked, booo). I added a cream cheese frosting to the loaf and served it as part of a brunch and it was so moist and yummy, just perfect tart and sweet, mmmmm. The only thing that would have made it more wonderful is if I added some chopped candied orange peel to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A fantastic recipe! After it cools and the flavors set it's perfect! I made them in mason jars (taken from another recipe on this site) and gave them Christmas gifts. The whole cranberries make for a gorgeous seasonal presentation through the glass jars. Had to remake it 3 times, we kept eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States