Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I used slightly more than 1 cup of dried cranberries, slivered almonds instead of walnuts, and added vanilla to the wet ingredients. I also made a glaze out of powdered sugar and orange juice and drizzled that over top. The bread has a wonderful moist but dense texture and is very fruity and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I did as someone else suggested and cooked my frozen cranberries just until they popped open before folding them into the batter. I also added about 1/4 tsp of orange extract because I didn't have the orange zest. This bread is *very* good. I'm pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Good! I didn't have access to fresh or frozen cranberries so I used a bit less than 1 cup of dried, and I thought it could have used more. I also threw in a dash of cinnamon, and might add more next time. Very good; Co workers loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Absolutely wonderful bread! It really hits the spot when you're snowed in during the winter in and has a nice hearty texture. Orange extract works well if you don't have an orange handy for the peel. Used 1/2 tsp. Making it again tomorrow. This will be a regular until I've used up my cranberries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made a few alterations to this recipe, not because there is anything wrong with the recipe as written, but because I didn't have all the ingredients and I still wanted to try it. I used 1 cup of dried cranberries instead of fresh, and because of this, I upped the amount of orange juice to a full cup. I did not have any fresh oranges to zest, so I put in a heaping spoonful of orange marmalade instead since it's main ingredient is orange zest. Because I used the marmalade, I mixed all the wet ingredients in a blender to insure that they'd mix evenly. I also sprinkled some almond slivers and coarse sugar crystals on the top before baking it, which gave the top a delightful crunch. This bread came out great, even with the alterations. I can't wait to try it again with fresh cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
fabulous fabulous fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this bread. I've never made cranberry bread before but I'll be making this one again. I only gave 4 stars as I altered the recipe slightly but definitely worth the time spent making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Delicious!! Sweet, tart, orangey....nice hot or cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Yum! I tried making these into mini loaves and I left them in the oven for 35 mintues which wasn't enough time but the loaf I made in a regular size loaf pan was wonderful so I'll have top play with the time on the mini loaves (they sunk since they were undercooked, booo). I added a cream cheese frosting to the loaf and served it as part of a brunch and it was so moist and yummy, just perfect tart and sweet, mmmmm. The only thing that would have made it more wonderful is if I added some chopped candied orange peel to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A fantastic recipe! After it cools and the flavors set it's perfect! I made them in mason jars (taken from another recipe on this site) and gave them Christmas gifts. The whole cranberries make for a gorgeous seasonal presentation through the glass jars. Had to remake it 3 times, we kept eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States