Cranberry Orange Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
A very moist delicious bread that works well as a nice side or breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Amazing! Everybody who has tried it absolutely loved it. I topped mine with a simple orange glaze made from orange juice and powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup. Most of my family enjoyed it that way (as did I!), but my husband wished they were sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The taste is ok, but the bread is very heavy and dense. It is not what I was hoping for. I may try to tweak it some, but I'm not in any hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Love this bread! I made it exactly as stated but chopped the cranberries with the walnuts very coarsely in the food processor. It is a hearty, nutty bread and with only 1 egg and 2 Tablespoons of butter for the whole load it must be pretty low fat per slice. Super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This recipe makes a wonderful, moist, tangy bread. My changes included 2 cups of cranberries and no walnuts. Also, I added 1/2 tsp of vanilla, just because I do this with all of my breads. Since I usually make a double batch, I grate the whole orange, and then squeeze what juice I can into a measuring cup, then top it off with Minute-Maid Low Acid orange juice. I have made both loaves of bread and muffins. Both come out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Good, but not great. Maybe it is just me, so don't rule this out immediately. Maybe it's the high altitude I find myself living in (over 6000 feet). Maybe I simply mixed it too much. The taste, however, was DELICIOUS. The fresh cranberry/orange/walnut combination is outstanding. It's the consistency that left a little to be desired. Very thick batter (almost like a cookie dough) that didn't "pour" well into the pan. So, in essence--I love the ingredients, but didn't love the texture of the end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Great great recipe! I've made this twice now: once as written with fresh cranberries, and it was so good. Today I tried a few things differently-I used blueberries instead of cran, I subbed one of the cups of flour with whole wheat flour, and I added about 1/2 cup of non-fat plain greek yogurt. I brought it to a ladies luncheon, and watched as everyone had slice after slice! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This is a really good alternative to the recipe on the bag of Ocean Spray cranberries I had on hand. I popped them in the magic bullet so they were coarsely diced (I prefer that to whole berries or larger chunks). I doubled everything in the recipe (which was enough to use the whole bag of cranberries I had). I only had satsuma oranges and used the zest of two of them. I added 1 tsp of vanilla, a little bit of extra orange juice, and 1/4 tsp of pumpkin pie spice, and left out the nuts entirely since I have a toddler who can't chew them. I baked in two standard loaf pans for about 50 mins. Whole family is really enjoying it, even my picky toddler. It's especially good warm with butter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this to use up some left over cranberries from Thanksgiving and it was great! I did add a half a cup of apple sauce and used half brown sugar half white sugar and was very liberal with the fresh cranberries and walnuts. The fresh cranberries make this bread, I would not substitute dried cranberries unless you really don't like the tartness of them fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States