Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Having read the reviews and what the submitter Sarah says about dried cranberries also being good in this, I think the recipe means to use fresh chopped cranberries. If you do then you get quite a lot of moisture from them and the cookies do spread. I have also used dried cranberries and then I add a splash or two of milk and they are fine. The mix with the fresh cranberries is more tart. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
my brother made these cookies for Christmas. WOW! they are soft, moist, tasty, sweet, but not too sweet. Just amazing. I couldn't stop eating them, and once they were finished, we've all begun egging him on to make them again. Really tasty! Oh, and replace the butter with applesauce, i'm sure my brother did, he's healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I made these cookies for Christmas and they were a HUGE hit! I had to make a few adjustments, though, due to a last minute lack of some ingredients. I didn't have any whole wheat flour, but I don't think it made much of a difference. I also didn't have as much brown sugar as I needed, so I made a simple glaze from powdered sugar and water to drizzle over the cookies when they were done. Everyone raved over them and we ate the whole tray in one night!! I will definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April R Allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Radford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
It is bland and very dry. I would not reccomend this one to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
for the most part, a good recipe, but they were kind of blah--if i use this again, i will definitely increase the brown sugar, and maybe add white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ethridge, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Corinth, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
The cookie is good but I used almond extract instead of vanilla and added sliverd almonds instead of walnuts. I also did one cup all purpose flour and 2/3 wheat flour. The result is a good cookie that does not spread out. Melt your butter to get the flat cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Needs some adjustments. 1 tsp salt, and equal amts of flour and oatmeal 1.5 cups each. I love the combo of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Despite the mixed reviews, I thought these sounded really good. However, I was a bit disappointed when I tried them after coming out of the oven. I let them sit overnight and tried another one... YUM! I guess they just needed some time? Only thing I did differently was that I added 1 cup of white chocolate chips to my dough and upped the vanilla to 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Wow, can they be worse? Hard to mix, dry, flavorless. Are there a typographical errors in the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I'm no baker and these cookies rock! I changed a few things ... 1/2c whole wheat flour + 1/2c all purpose (1c total). only used 1 stick butter (8T). + 1T white sugar. + bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, orange zest. used Pecans instead of Walnuts. Baked for 12 minutes (rotate 1/2 way) and they were chewy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States