Cranberry Oatmeal Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I love these. I had to improvise the recipe a little. Since I didn't have some ingredients. I used 1/2 cup of natural applesauce instead of the butter. I substituted the sugar for maple syrup, and I used 1 teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa for pumpkin pie spice. They turned out delicious and not dry at all. On the contrary, they were moist. Next time, I am going to ad almonds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Very easy! I added an extra egg and increase baking soda, baking powder and salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The bars came out more cake-like. It was a great late night snack for me and the husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
With hectic mornings, we had little time for breakfast or lunch packing. We were spending a fortune on bought cereal bars. NO MORE!!! These are fantastic, easy to make, and customizable!! The first batch I made per the recipe except with applesauce instead of butter. I'm very pleased! Now...I hope my fiance will be as happy when he gets home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
very tasty! My kids and the kiddos I watch loved them. Moist and not too sweet. Even my husband the sweet tooth in the house liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Moores

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I have made these both ways. The first batch I made exactly as the recipe was written, except I did add some dark chocolate chips. The next day, I made them using honey instead of brown sugar, and applesauce instead of butter. To me, both ways are fabulous. I will probably stick to the second method, just for the healthier outcome. They went over better for my kids when I chopped up the dried cranberries. These are what we use as a pick-me-up after our Zumba class every week. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Delicious recipe! I made this for my boyfriend and myself to take for our lunches and I substituted the pecans for chocolate chips. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Just wonderful and a healthy alternative to cookies. A little crumbly but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this exactly as directed! The result was exactly as described, a moist tart and sweet cranberry oatmeal bar cookie. It was a great way to use up the dried cranberries I had and I believe I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
I looooooooove cranberries, so this was great. Changed a few things. Didn't have the pie spice, pecans or egg, so I added a bit more cinnamon, chopped up an apple to add to the mix, and used egg beaters. Also drizzled the top with honey and put it in an 8x8 pan. Increased the bake time to 20-25 minutes so the middle would cook. Found that with the addition of the apples it was awesomely sweet (just right for my taste). However, I have some friends doing Weight Watchers and plan to try some adjustments next time for them. Will try applesauce instead of butter, honey instead of sugar (and lessen the amount since I'm adding apples), and leave the peels on the apples (and add another half an apple) to add even more of a fiber kick. Think they will love it as much as I did! Great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunny_bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States