Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe with the modifications ... Instant gratification, by the time the kitchen was cleaned up the dessert was ready. Modifications to original recipe: used 9x13 pan, 3 cups cranberries and 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1 cup sugar. Broiled the top for 2 minutes until golden. Very good! - Thanks for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
So easy and delicious. I tried it to use up leftover cranberry relish, but just bought some cranberries to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I think this would be far better baked in a larger pan. In a 9" square pan it is really thick and the top crumb mixture never really baked properly, even with more than 10 minutes extra baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was good, but the proportions are way off. Next time I would double the cranberry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
very good! i used canned cherries instead and upped the sugar a bit, and i replaced the orange zest with some almond extract. i also added some flaked coconut to the dry mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I carefully followed the instructions for the crust, though I was leery of the amounts. Even though I increased the amount of butter called for to 1 cup, the crust was very dry and it tasted "floury". AND, what is the baking powder for? There are no ingredients to activate its leavening action, so it does nothing. I will probably make these again, but will use common sense in making the crust: less flour, more butter, a bit more salt and definitely no baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are really good. They did take longer than stated to cook. I had to add a little water to the cranberries and they took about 25 min to cook down on low. The bars browned closer to 25 min. I didn't have oranges but found out after I started the recipe (sorry). I'm sure that it would be as good with the orange zest.I used Snoqualamie Falls oatmeal I sprinkled some cinnamon into the crust. They are a little sweet but they are very good while still a little warm...and you could serve them with ice cream...I am having one now :) Thank you so much for the post! I used a 9x13 pan too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Very tasty. I used a 14 oz can of whole cranberry sauce instead of cooking frozen/fresh cranberries. It made the recipe even easier!! Like other reviewers I fit all into a 9 x 13" pan. Thanks for the recipe...I was searching for awhile for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDENSVEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were good. A lot more work than I anticipated (though it would be easier if I had a zester- I just used a vegetable peeler.) I thought they tasted very good, but I wouldn't make them again. They weren't as addictive as most desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These are dangerously delicious. I make them in a 9 x 13 pan, increasing the amount of filling by adding unsweetened applesauce to the cranberry mixture. I use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States