Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My daughter made these in a jelly roll pan, and they were great. They were thin, but not too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are absolutely wonderful, as a matter of fact, they didn't make it into my Christmas gift tins- we ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These were very good, I made a double batch so it could fit in a 13x9 pan and the family devoured them. A little sweet but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Easy to make, very tasty, but WAY to sweet! Cranberry items are supposed to be tart, but too tasty to ignore so I'll try cutting sugar in half or better, next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
These were very good. I used a 9x13 pan, and I added some slivered almonds to the topping. For the filling I used 3 cups cranberries, 1 cup sugar, 1 diced apple, some apple juice, a little orange juice, and orange zest, then thickened it with cornstarch. They were still pretty zingy, so I'm glad I added the extras. I served it with ice cream; then took the rest for friends to sample the next day. They were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SophieGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
yummy. I added a cup of applesauce to the sauce. It turned out quite crumbly but still delicious. I also used a 9 x 13 pan with no changes to the recipe except the addition of the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
These are simple to make and delicious. I used frozen cranberries and added about 1 TBSP of orange juice during the cooking process. I also used my food processor to make the crumb crust/topping. I mixed the dry ingredients first, then added chunks of cold butter and pulsed until I had crumbs. My coworkers enjoyed these. I cut them into triangles for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this recipe twice. First I made it with the changes suggested by some readers: 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 3 cups cranberries, 1 cup sugar and a 9 X 13 pan. But the applesauce diluted the intense cranberry flavor, and the crust wasn't substantial enough (the bars were too flimsy). So the second time, I used the following ingredients, also in a 9 X 13 pan: 4 cups cranberries 1 1/3 cups white sugar 3 tablespoons orange zest 2 cups rolled oats 1 1/2 cups flour 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar 1 teaspoon cinnamon 2 sticks butter I baked it for about 35 minutes at 370 degrees. The cranberry filling had the intense flavor I wanted, and the crust was substantial, making for a firm bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Addictive. I do agree, a 13x9 inch pan might have worked a bit better. I pretty much followed the recipe except pilfered a bit from Cook's Illustrated and before making topping, cut in about 1.5 tbs butter and a couple more brown sugar. I thought the amount of filling and the tartness were perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I used another reviewer's suggestion and added unsweetened applesauce to stretch the fillling and cut the tartness, then made it in a 13x9 pan, these worked pretty well and the foil made them easy to get out of the pan. I do think something to cut the tartness is necessary because even with what I did they were almost too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States