Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
made these using my leftover cranberries from Thanksgiving - what a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made these following the recipe exactly. The oat part was definitely floury. I think doubling the cranberry portion would've helped, and possibly adding more butter or something to moisten up the crust/topping. My topping was powdery instead of crumbly. However, the overall taste was good and my husband ate most of the batch. He said it's like a cranberry version of one of those fruit/grain bars you get at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
It turned out quite dry, salty and too buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
If you put fresh cranberries, sugar and lemon zest in a pan...it is dry. Nothing to boil!!! I winging it by adding some OJ. Fingers crossed! But recipe needs to be corrected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Great for Thanksgiving! I had already made fresh cranberry sauce, so I was able to skip the first step and use the extra sauce I had made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
My family loved the bars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
One of the easiest bars to make. Simple ingredients and they cook so fast. I love cranberries and this is a great use. made these for my dad who is 84, and loves to get baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Followed the directions and used the 9 x 9 pan. I swapped the butter for the I Can't believe It's Not Butter Sticks. I thought there was too much oat mixture for the amount of cranberry. The cranberry mixture came out way too thin. I could barely get it to fit the pan. As for taste, I could taste the salt, so I would cut back on it. (Could have been my butter choice) I suggest, if trying this recipe to increase the cranberry mixture by another 1/2 and then maybe putting the whole thing in a 9 x 13. Has potential but needs tweaking. I also had to cook mine for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I totally cheated and used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce (it was about to expire and that was why I chose a cranberry recipe). I cut the crust down to eleven servings and put it in a pie plate with extra time in the oven. It was flipping awesome--but really sweet, so those that don't like that beware. Somebody mentioned adding extra butter to the oats but I found it to be pretty buttery and rich with the amount in the recipe (and I LOVE butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is GREAT! I work at a coffee shop and we order cranberry walnut bars from somewhere else. I tried them and wanted to find a recipe so that I could make them at home. This recipe looked like it was the closest match so I tested it out. I added about 1/2 a cup more oatmeal, 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts, as well as some allspice, cinnamon and cloves to the dry mixture and used 1 (16 oz) can of whole berrry cranberry sauce as the middle spread instead of making the cranberry sauce myself. They turned out amazing and almost the exact flavor of the ones we sell at the coffee shop! One more thing, I did use a 9x9 pan put I had no extra because I make a very thick bottom layer and also worked the bottom layer up the side of the pan halfway. I saved just enough of the mixture to cover the top of the cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple~Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States