Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I doubled this for a 9x13" pan, with a few modifications to the filling only. Instead of doubling the cranberries, I added the directed 2 cups of cranberries, then I added 2 cups of peeled, chopped, apple and cooked till tender and reduced. Then I added 1/4 cup of apple juice with 1 Tbsp. cornstarch stirred in to thicken filling. The end result was an awesome filling without the bite that often accompanies cranberry recipes. Everybody at my picnic loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
These are dangerously delicious. I make them in a 9 x 13 pan, increasing the amount of filling by adding unsweetened applesauce to the cranberry mixture. I use whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I have made this recipe twice. First I made it with the changes suggested by some readers: 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, 3 cups cranberries, 1 cup sugar and a 9 X 13 pan. But the applesauce diluted the intense cranberry flavor, and the crust wasn't substantial enough (the bars were too flimsy). So the second time, I used the following ingredients, also in a 9 X 13 pan: 4 cups cranberries 1 1/3 cups white sugar 3 tablespoons orange zest 2 cups rolled oats 1 1/2 cups flour 1/2 teaspoon baking soda 1/2 teaspoon salt 3/4 cup packed light-brown sugar 1 teaspoon cinnamon 2 sticks butter I baked it for about 35 minutes at 370 degrees. The cranberry filling had the intense flavor I wanted, and the crust was substantial, making for a firm bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This bar has everything a person wants in a desserty bar. Crunchy,Tart,Chewy,Sweet! All rolled up in one delicious bar! If you like cranberry treats, then this one is for you! I made it in a 9x13 instead of a 9x9(didn't own one). And increased the cranberries to 2 cups, and increased the sugar to 1c. Other than that the recipie is wonderful!! Putting it in a foil lined pan makes removing this dessert a snap, as well as cutting them into squares. A+ Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I've made thi recipe for my husband's lunches for the last three weeks. The first week was with the cranberries. Last week I used blueberries. This week it is raspberries with a few cranberries thrown in. He loves them! I think I have figured out the problem with the left over dry ingredients. Usually I increase the recipe for a 9x13 baking dish. This week, I made the recipe as shown for a 9x9 baking dish and still used a 9x13 baking dish. It was just the correct amount of dry ingredients with not a ton left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is GREAT! I work at a coffee shop and we order cranberry walnut bars from somewhere else. I tried them and wanted to find a recipe so that I could make them at home. This recipe looked like it was the closest match so I tested it out. I added about 1/2 a cup more oatmeal, 1/2 cup of coarsely chopped walnuts, as well as some allspice, cinnamon and cloves to the dry mixture and used 1 (16 oz) can of whole berrry cranberry sauce as the middle spread instead of making the cranberry sauce myself. They turned out amazing and almost the exact flavor of the ones we sell at the coffee shop! One more thing, I did use a 9x9 pan put I had no extra because I make a very thick bottom layer and also worked the bottom layer up the side of the pan halfway. I saved just enough of the mixture to cover the top of the cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple~Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Really yummy! I only had a 9 x 13 pan, so I increased all of the ingredients by 1.5 and baked about 25 minutes. I then broiled for just about 2 minutes to give it an extra crispness. I substituted lemon zest for orange zest, and added just a dash of lemon juice to the cranberry mixture. The only thing I'd do differently is add a tiny bit more brown sugar to the crust next time. A really great snack on its own, or downright divine warmed up, drizzled with caramel and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I carefully followed the instructions for the crust, though I was leery of the amounts. Even though I increased the amount of butter called for to 1 cup, the crust was very dry and it tasted "floury". AND, what is the baking powder for? There are no ingredients to activate its leavening action, so it does nothing. I will probably make these again, but will use common sense in making the crust: less flour, more butter, a bit more salt and definitely no baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This was good, but the proportions are way off. Next time I would double the cranberry mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I totally cheated and used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce (it was about to expire and that was why I chose a cranberry recipe). I cut the crust down to eleven servings and put it in a pie plate with extra time in the oven. It was flipping awesome--but really sweet, so those that don't like that beware. Somebody mentioned adding extra butter to the oats but I found it to be pretty buttery and rich with the amount in the recipe (and I LOVE butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States