Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
This bar has everything a person wants in a desserty bar. Crunchy,Tart,Chewy,Sweet! All rolled up in one delicious bar! If you like cranberry treats, then this one is for you! I made it in a 9x13 instead of a 9x9(didn't own one). And increased the cranberries to 2 cups, and increased the sugar to 1c. Other than that the recipie is wonderful!! Putting it in a foil lined pan makes removing this dessert a snap, as well as cutting them into squares. A+ Nicely done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2002
I also increased the cranberry sauce(I had a lot of frozen cranberries after the Holidays) and used a 9X13 pan. Good thing, because these went quickly! Really good with coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
This recipe is so easy and yummy!! I used fresh strawberries instead of cran and used lemon zest instead of orange and it came out soooooo good!! . I cut them into bars and then cut the bars in half on the slant and it looks and tastes like store bought.Used an 8x8 pan so had to bake for about 8 minutes longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
These are outrageous! I've made a second batch already! I used lemon peel instead of orange peel for the second batch and I like it even better! "Wait until cool to cut" You've got to be kidding! These are half eaten up right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
I increased the recipe by 1-1/2 to fit a 9x13 pan. These bars turned out really sweet. They were still good, but I would either reduce the amount of sugar cooked with the cranberries or the brown sugar in the crust. They were really good frozen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Really yummy! I only had a 9 x 13 pan, so I increased all of the ingredients by 1.5 and baked about 25 minutes. I then broiled for just about 2 minutes to give it an extra crispness. I substituted lemon zest for orange zest, and added just a dash of lemon juice to the cranberry mixture. The only thing I'd do differently is add a tiny bit more brown sugar to the crust next time. A really great snack on its own, or downright divine warmed up, drizzled with caramel and served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream! Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2005
awesome!!! I had to add some water to the cranberry mixture to facilitate the dissolving of the sugar. Easy to make and a wonderful snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
I've made thi recipe for my husband's lunches for the last three weeks. The first week was with the cranberries. Last week I used blueberries. This week it is raspberries with a few cranberries thrown in. He loves them! I think I have figured out the problem with the left over dry ingredients. Usually I increase the recipe for a 9x13 baking dish. This week, I made the recipe as shown for a 9x9 baking dish and still used a 9x13 baking dish. It was just the correct amount of dry ingredients with not a ton left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
These are so fantastic, I could have eaten the whole pan myself. (I love cranberries) Served them at a Family Reunion, even the men there asked their wives to make sure they asked for the recipe. Thank you, so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I doubled this for a 9x13" pan, with a few modifications to the filling only. Instead of doubling the cranberries, I added the directed 2 cups of cranberries, then I added 2 cups of peeled, chopped, apple and cooked till tender and reduced. Then I added 1/4 cup of apple juice with 1 Tbsp. cornstarch stirred in to thicken filling. The end result was an awesome filling without the bite that often accompanies cranberry recipes. Everybody at my picnic loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Gunkel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States