Cranberry Oat Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great recipe, I used canned cranberry's left over from thanksgiving and added a layer of blueberries, but YUM! Oh and I added a little cinnamon and clove to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MontanaView

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I didn't use the nuts; I never do. My family has enough nuts. These bars were so good! It surprised us all, as the cranberries were no longer too tart to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Substituted dried cranberries...for smaller pan 9x9" I used 1-1/2 cups dried and 1/2 cup orange juice I cooked for about 15 minutes to soften berries. Instead of orange zest I used 3/4 cup orange marmalade and no added sugar (I like tart things so you might need to add some sugar if you want a sweet filling} cooking this with berries about 5 minutes. Based on other comments for larger pan, I cut back to one cup each of oats and flour. I like my holiday cranberry bread combination so I added 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon and chopped pecans to the topping. Delicous! Next time I think I'll spread some white chocolate chips on top to play up the tart/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Sometimes simpler is better. Great recipe to substitute anything you have, on hand, for the filling. Used Strawberry jam, today. Will try the cranberry filling, next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I made this in a 9x13 pan by increasing crust by 1 1/2 and doubling the filling. I added 2 tsp cinnamon to the crust and added the juice of 1 orange to the filling. I used about 2/3 of the crust on the bottom and 1/3 on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made these with a pint of lowbush cranberries (lingonberries) I canned last year. I followed the crust directions, went easy on the salt, 3/4 cup sugar (brown/white mix) and used half & half quick/old fashioned oats. After I cut in the butter, I sprinkled 1-2 teaspoons of water for good measure. In retrospect- unnecessary. THey came out awesome. perfect texture- not dry crunchy like some other similar recipes I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chitina, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious. The first time I made them I only had quick oats available. They were very good but next time I used large flake oats and the texture and flavor was much more to my liking. I have also used a mixture of blueberries and cranberries with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was OK when very fresh, but it was extremely sweet, very buttery, and needed to be baked longer. I baked it for 25 minutes just because 15 seemed so short, and it still got extremely soggy within a day of baking. I also wish I had followed my instincts and added some spices like cinnamon and maybe nutmeg. Even though it was super-sweet, it ended up tasting kind of bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Wow, these are awesome! I took the advice of others and usesd a 13x9 pan. Also increased the filling. I used 2 cups cranberries and 1 cup pomegranate seeds and then strained to remove the seeds. Also increased sugar to 1 cup. Took these to work and everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These were delicious! One of our favorites now. I added six more servings to the recipe to create more crust. I used a 9x13 pan and the same amount of filling. They came out perfect. I feel like less filling makes it easier to cut and not soggy. I also added a little bit more of orange zest to make it more orangey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States