Cranberry Nut Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This bread is great! I did make a few modifications, though: I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar, I used extra orange juice instead of adding water to the butter/orange zest/juice mixture, and I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. I also didn't put the frosting on top. This is a great recipe. I'll be making it a lot in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaD
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
A no fail recipe! Cranberry Nut Bread is my favorite holiday treat! I followed the recipe to the letter, but made them in individual pans rather than one big one. They freeze beautifully, and look and taste fresh when defrosted. They smell heavenly while baking. No fuss magic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2001
Everyone loved this recipe! We couldn't wait to get it out of the oven, it smelled so good! I substituted pecans for the walnuts, we'll make this several times a year, not just around the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
I found it awfully dry for my taste. Looked nice but ended up throwing most of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This recipe is as fantastic as it is easy. I made it as gifts for Christmas, and everyone raved and wanted the recipe. My husband calls it "crack in a pan." I made it without the frosting and did two small loaves per batch. They cooked in the same amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I only made a few adjustments (I always try to make a bit healthier): whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup of dk brown sugar (I just prefer the taste), about 2 tablespoons of Smart Balance spread for the butter, halved the cranberries, added 1/2 tspn each of vanilla extract, cinnamon and nutmeg and skipped the icing. I cooked it at 350 for 50 mins and it turned out pretty tasty. I did find it a little dry and I will try adding a small amount of nonfat yogurt to the batter next time in place of the butter. I'm going to make mini loaves for the kids to give their teachers for Christmas this year. 1 loaf should translate to 4 mini loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This recipe is Wonderful. I made it for a Christmas party and every one loved it. I did make a few of the modifications mentioned in the Review written November 25, 2006. by Amanda Cornelius I used extra orange juice instead of adding water to the butter/orange juice mixture, and I added 1/2 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. ** I left out the orange zest** (I followed the recipe on everything else)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Really good especially as a not too sweet dessert. I used frozen cranberries as fresh were not available. They worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I made this for a pregnant neighbor who was craving cranberry walnut bread. It made everyone happy! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States