Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
This is a good basic recipe. For those who are having trouble with the loaf falling apart or crumbling-remember when baking quick breads that overstirring it will cause those problems. You want to add the dry ingredients to the liquid and only stir enough to mix things together and then stop. It is better to err on the side of not enough stirring then too much. "Just till combined" means just that. I put powdered sugar on one loaf and drizzled icing on the other. Both made nice additions to my brunch luncheon. Thanks Karin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nisswa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
The first time I made this it turned out great. I took it to the office and it was gone in no time. The second time, I overground the cranberries and walnuts, and the bread ended up falling apart and tasting drier. Chop the cranberries and walnuts just a bit for the best taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Have been making this one for two years, and gets rave reviews every time I serve it! The grated orange peel is important, and I love the fact that it's lower in fat than a lot of quick breads. Dried craisins are not the same as fresh ... I buy extra bags of fresh cranberries in the fall and just toss them in the freezer as is so I can make this bread year round. A belated thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Excellent recipe! My husband and I love this bread. I used my food processor to chop the cranberries and nuts. I also used a tablespoon of grated orange peel, fresh off the orange instead of the prepared orange zest. It turned out great. We ate half of it before it cooled! It is very pretty too. I will be making in and giving it out as gifts for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonni
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Very good recipe. Not too sweet and has a pound cake kind of texture. I added a jar of chopped (and rinsed) Green Maraschino Cherries to make it even more festive looking. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This is the best ever cranberry receipe I have ever tasted. I used suggestions submitted by BREADBAKER with the following modifications: 1. One cup of raw sugar for a double receipe with one tablespoon full honey. 2. I mixed whole and chopped cranberries and pecans also finely chopped with larger chunks. 3. Whole wheat flour was combined with all purpose flour in equal amounts. The bread was just sweet enough. The orange zest must be included. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
We liked it, but it wasnt exactly what I was looking for. It had too many nuts in it, and cranberries. I substitued cranberries for craisins (dehydrated sweetend cranberries) which I think added to the flavor. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Pretty good, although not quite as sweet as I would have liked. I liked the texture and crunch from the nuts, and the orange peel adds a lot of nice flavor so don't skip that. I made 3 mini loaves from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
The bread was surprisingly easy to make and tasted great. I used fresh cranberries and think I went a little overboard so it was a bit sour but overall this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
A very good bread. I omitted the orange zest, which I will add next time. This is not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States