Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by desertflower
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
OK, so after reading a ton of these great reviews, here's what I came away with.. and it works out wonderfully! I doubled the recipe (I mean, who only wants one loaf!), using 3 eggs instead of 2, 3T of oil instead of 2, added a teaspoon of cinnamon and a teaspoon of vanilla. Once the batter was in the pans prior to baking, I placed a few cranberries and nut pieces directly on top, then sprinkled the loaf with sugar-in-the-raw. All of these were suggestions I garnered from reading numerous reviews. Thanks to the allrecipes.com community for taking a great recipe and perfecting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desertflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is super yummy! I coated the pan with cinnamon and sugar and sprinkled the top with walnuts and sugar. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I didn't have fresh cranberries, so I used dried ones. The bread is moist and remarkably orange flavored even without adding orange zest. I'm going to try it again using fresh cranberries and I'll bet it will be a 5 star with the extra tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Reubens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Absolutely delicious!!! I followed some other reviews and used 1 cup of orange juice instead of 3/4 cup. I didn't want the bread to be dry. Came out super moist!! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is very close to the cranberry bread recipe I use, however, why just make one bread at a time? I dole these breads out left and right to co-workers, friends, between thanksgiving and Christmas out....I use the following recipe that makes 3 large, or 6 small loaves.....however, I usually make a double batch of this, and fill my freezer, so I can have enough to hand out to all. My favorite way to eat this is to butter a slice and stick it in the toaster oven (not regular toaster) and let the butter melt and brown slightly and become more sweet. Some friends of mine like to slather on orange cream cheese frosting from this site. recipe doubles nicely and freezes well. Grease 3 large pans or 6 small aluminum foil loaf pans Preheat oven to 350 Defrost 16ounce can of frozen orange juice Mix dry ingredients together: 5 cups flour 3 cups sugar 2 tsp salt 3 tsp baking powder 1 1/2 tsp baking soda Add in wet ingredients 6 oz. thawed orange juice concentrate 10 oz. hot water 4 Tbl vegetable oil 2 eggs, beaten ( I use egg beaters-easier) Combine until just mixed (don't over mix) Add orange zest and nuts optional After wet and dry ingredients are mixed , add in a bag and a half (about 18 oz.) cranberries ( cranberries can be either fresh or frozen ) Pour evenly into greased pans, about 3/4 full. Place aluminum foil loaves on a baking sheet Bake 1 hour or until done (toothpick test). If making a double batch, and using two racks, swap racks halfway through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Gardner
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I made this bread today, a double batch, and it was SO GOOD! Things to note that I did: I cut the fresh cranberries into halves. I didn't have orange juice so I squeezed the juice from one orange (yielded approx. 1/4 cup) and then used 1 more egg, and 1 cup of applesauce to offset the missing liquid. The batter was VERY THICK, and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crystal G.
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Great recipe. I did add a cinnamon crumble topping which just made it better, but I bet it would be great with some orange donut glaze drizzled on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This is a very good recipe. Easy and fast, 2 of my favorites. I did use a whole bag of cranberries because I didn't want to save them. I used coconut oil for the oil and added some cinnamon & nutmeg only because I love spices in everything. I didn't have any orange juice so I used a pear cinnamon cider that I had on hand. It was very moist with a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Karin you hit it out of the park with this one. The first time I made it only change I made was to leave out the nuts because of a food allergy. Everyone loved it! Simply out of personal taste, the other changes were to increase the OJ to 1 cup and the cranberries to about a cup and 1/2. I made it for Thanksgiving this year along with my mothers cran/nut and my entire family liked it better. Sorry mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Me encantó la receta. Muy fácil de preparar y se puede combinar con otros ingredientes. Yo le añadí una pizca de canela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States