Cranberry Nut Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Not impressed, unfortunately. I had such high hopes, but this was on the bland side. I will give high marks for being moist and attractive when sliced, but it just wasn't very tasty, though I followed the recipe to a T. I'll keep looking for a more flavorful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I never baked with fresh cranberries before, and I was surprised at how tough the berries are. But when sliced and baked they were delicious! The best thing I liked about this recipe is that it was simple to follow and didn't use too many ingredients. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Best Cranberry bread ever!!! Husband & kids said WOW! Used great suggestions from others, such as 2 cups whole cranberries, cinnamon sugar in the greased stones, nutmeg, vanilla, cinnamon and the lemon glaze. AWESOME! My son said make it all the time. Enjoy All and Happy Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Really good. I did dark chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Next time I would add an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of berries. Also I stole someone else's suggestion of lining the greased pan with cinnamon and sugar to make it a crispier crust. Then add some with sugar in the raw on top before baking. For a more decorative look had press some berries and chocolate on top before putting it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is my first time making cranberry bread, and I read the reviews before trying it myself. I noted that several people said this recipe made the bread very dry, so I added 1/3 cup of sour cream to the mix as well as a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 tsp nutmeg for flavor. I reduced the cranberries to 1 cup and increased the sugar to 1 1/2 cups. I also sliced and smashed the cranberries before adding them. I must agree that it is much better after it has cooled. If you try it when it's warm, the cranberries do over power the flavor of the bread. We chilled it before eating it, and it turned out absolutely wonderful! My husband and my son both love it, so I will definitely be making this for our Thanksgiving family get-together. The only thing I would do differently next time is add some melted butter to the top of the loaf while it's baking because the crust did come out pretty hard, which I usually like, but it was a little tough to bite into the corners. Otherwise, I'm really glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Have made this several times now. Took others' suggestions: doubled the cranberries and sprinkled with cinammon and sugar. A favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I got a lot of complements on this bread. It was tangy and delicious. I used pecans instead of walnuts and cut the sugar a bit. I also used a stick of butter instead of oil which made it more cake-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Made this with leftover Fresh cranberries from the holidays. Wasn't sure what to expect, but the flavor was amazing! I think next time I will add more cranberries, and a tad more sugar, but it was very good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
When im burnt out on eating cranberries and im down to that last cup in the bag...this is a GREAT easy recipe to throw together!! Delicious!! (Made it without the "orange zest")
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Delicious! and I "healthed it up" by using whole wheat flour, about half the sugar, and 1/4 cup applesauce instead of the oil (although it's, not much oil so that doesn't matter much).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States