Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
With a few modifications, this recipe made great muffins that the whole family enjoyed. They were neither overly sweat, nor particularly tart. I used a Gluten Free flour. I used 4 teaspoons of baking powder. (based on another reviewer's comments) I used brown sugar instead of white.(based on another reviewer's comments) I used craisins, and soaked them in the OJ while I was preparing other ingredients. (based on another reviewer's comments). You only need 1 cup of craisins. The batter was pretty thick and I couldn't taste the orange, so I think perhaps next time I might add a bit more OJ, and perhaps some extra zest. The muffins were dark at 20 minutes, so I think 18 might have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin DeWhitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Awesome muffins. For those who like a little sweeter decorate with some vanilla butter cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
This is an excellent recipe. The only adaptations I made were minor: whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose (this swap is usually safe in muffins), brown sugar for white, and butter for oil. The consistency of the muffin was perfect, not too heavy or light, and they cooked through all the way without getting too dark around the edges and on the bottom. They were sweet but not excessively sweet. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Cette recette est parfaite. J'ai fait ces muffins plusieurs fois et toute la famille en redemande. Merci (= This recipe is perfect. I made these muffins several times and the whole family wanting more. thank you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Not very good. Quite dry and all the fruit sunk to the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Good muffins! I took some advice from the other reviews. I added a little more vegetable oil and 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. I will make this again and maybe substitute the oil with butter. I also sprinkled some sugar on top of the muffins for the last 5mins of baking. Everyone loved the tartness and orange taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I used this recipe to make a special breakfast for Mother's Day. I read other reviews, and added more sugar and baking powder (only a tad bit more, nothing drastic). I did this because others said it was too tart and didn't rise well. Adding more did help. I also used cranberry sauce instead of cranberries, which came out just fine, if you want to do that too. The muffins came out pretty good, although they tasted pretty much like a regular muffin (this may have been because of using cranberry sauce as a substitute). I'd use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have the time to "sift" and "beat" the ingredients - started with the wet, added the dry and done! Also added white chocolate chips - yum. (my non-healthy version!) They were a hit :) Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Delicious! Just sweet enough -- very tasty. Only made one change, because I didn't have orange juice, and substituted cranberry juice. I was afraid the muffins would be pink, but they weren't. Really yummy. Will definitely be making these again, especially since DH is lactose intolerant, so these are perfect for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very tasty. Took others advice used only 1/2 cup OJ. Added walnuts and sprinkled Wilton brand "sprinkles" white sparkling sugar. My batch made 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States