Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
These muffins came out prety good but not great. I added a little buttermilk since some reviews said they were a little dry so they came out moist BUT I feel they need a little salt. I think that is what makes this recipe less than perfect- no salt. I think a 1/2 teaspoon of salt would do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I followed modifications, suggested by others. The muffins where easy to prepare, but unimpressive in flavor. I'm not sure if I want to bake them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
These were excellent, I made a few changes, I omitted the orange zest, and added an additional 1/2 c. brown sugar, plus 3/4 c. sour cream. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Great recipe! From reading previous comments, I substituted 1/3 cup Becel oil for the shortening and added 2 heaping tbsp. of sour cream. I didn't make the spread and they were tasty on their own. Next time I might mix some of the sugar with the cranberries first as mine were tart. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Substituted 1/3 c. oil for shortening. Dried cranberries (a chopper or processor is easier than manual chopping). Used 1/2c. white sugar and 1/2 c. brown, omitted ginger and added 3/4 c. sour cream. Used the zest and juice from a large naval orange. This made 48 mini muffins. Reduce baking time to 20 min. Perfect for office snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
very good and moist. i made these for a baby shower and did not use the cranberry sauce but an orange glaze. made them, froze them and defrosted them naturally. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these muffins with 1/3 cup of canola oil instead of shortening, and I chose to omit the topping as well. They were really really good and I loved the spices! The fact that they were dairy-free was an added bonus too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This review is somewhat biased because I didn't follow the instructions exactly. I didn't want to bake with shortening, so I did what another reviewer suggested and substituted it with 1/3 cup of canola oil, reduced the OJ and added buttermilk. While the muffins were moist they seemed to lack flavour. I'll definitely eat up this batch as they weren't a total waste, but I won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
OMG! These are the best! I mix the dry ingredients together and leave them in a zip lock bag for a few days. (Usually make that up ahead so on Thanksgiving I can bake these fresh. The flavors really work thru the flower and other ingredients this way, I think it is much better.) These are very moist. I really chop the cranberries in the mini processor, then pour them in juice and all to keep them moist. Don't overbake, or they can be dry. We love these, and have had them for over 15 years at Thanksgiving. I found this in a magazine many years ago, this is a tradition at our house. To store, keep in a zip lock bag, they are moist and the flavors get better as they sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Following the other reviewers' advice, I added 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States