Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I needed these for company was coming in less than an hour and had a bag of cranberries left over from thanksgiving. I did have to make a few changes though since partly into mixing, I realized I didn't have everything! I mixed all my "wet" ingredients first along with oil (no shortening...) and then dumped the dry ingredients on top. (I do this with every single muffin recipe and it works perfectly every time, no need for 2 bowls ever). When I then noticed I was out of nutmeg to :( I found some all spice and threw that in. No orange zest to be had so just skipped that. I also added 4 tbsp sour cream just to be sure they would be super moist and then FOLDED THE BATTER WITH A FORK, GENTLY, TURNING THE BOWL, AS I CONTINUED TO BRING THE BATTER INTO THE CENTRE until it was just mixed. After spooning into the muffin pan, I sprinkled with a crumble topping of brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. PERFECT MUFFINS EVERY TIME... BE GENTLE. (also, no need to cut the cranberries up. They are wonderful whole as well. This is where people mess up their muffins. By beating the batter too hard with a fork (or worse, a mixer), you are removing the air from your muffin which is what makes them so moist, and rise perfectly when cooking. Keep it simple. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Different and delicious - especially while still warm! And my kitchen filled with a delicious aroma that smelled like cinnamon doughnuts. Rather than walnuts I added some white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
WONDERFUL recipe though I did make a couple teeny tiny changes: (1) I did not have nuts so I left them out but they were good all the same :). (2) I did not have oranges to zest so I left them out but they still had a strong citrus flavor so I may continue to leave it out in the future. (3) I added salt, even if you use salted butter/margarine/shortening/etc always add a dash of salt to boost the flavors. (4) I added a dash of molasses to the mix to add depth to the spices. I also left out the spread as they are just fine on their own or with butter. I made a giant batch of mini-muffins with recipe to snack on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good orangy taste, cranberries work great with it. They are somewhat light (which can be good) but I think I'll try some sour cream in them next time for a little more denseness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My son and I whipped these up this afternoon and we ate half of them still warm. We both agree that they are wonderful. We used half brown and half white sugar and 1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice. I also did not have shortning, so I used vegtable oil. They are moist and so tasty. These may be the best muffins I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe. These muffins are more on the spicy side rather than tart though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These muffins were quite dry and overly sweet. They also needed more salt. If I make them again I will be modifying the recipe as others have reviewed and suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Seems too sweet, and too much nutmeg for our liking. maybe salt would help, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I did make several changes..I made them with Namaste gluten-free baking mix, part orange juice/part milk for the liquid as I only had one orange at home for juice,( no orange zest), used a scant 1/2 cup vegetable oil instead of shortening, used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda for baking, and added a dash of lemon extract. Used thawed frozen cranberries and cut them in half and all the walnuts. They came out really delicious! And the cranberries and walnuts are so good for you! Gonna be great for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very Good, easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States