Cranberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
The muffins were an absolute hit with my family this holiday season. I spent two mornings in a row making them because the first batch was devoured by nighttime! Few tweaks I made to the recipe were eliminating the orange zest and adding 2 cups of whole cranberries with 1/2 cup chopped cranberries. I also eliminated the nuts. To mix things up a bit, I also added some fresh blueberries to make a mixed berry version- they were delicious! These cranberry muffins will become a holiday tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I had these orange cranberry muffins from the store, and they were really good for store bought. I couldn't taste the orange though and I did not like them so big. I liked them for breakfast and I like it when you can grab it and go. So I wanted to make my own so I coud make them more orangy and put nuts and all that. I came across this recipe and thought it was worth a try! By the way I have never made muffins so this was fun! I made it like the recipe said but I made a few changes. I added to the dry ingrediants 1/4c lightly packed brown sugar and 3/4c cinnimon applesauce, I took out the orange zest and a little less orange juice and added DOTERRA esential oils of 11 drops of wild orange and 5 drops of tangerine (Cause I had it from DOTERRA and thought it might tast good) also put in about 2c of chopped pecans Well these were so moist and had a hint of orange, oh my I will make thes again they were so yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I needed these for company was coming in less than an hour and had a bag of cranberries left over from thanksgiving. I did have to make a few changes though since partly into mixing, I realized I didn't have everything! I mixed all my "wet" ingredients first along with oil (no shortening...) and then dumped the dry ingredients on top. (I do this with every single muffin recipe and it works perfectly every time, no need for 2 bowls ever). When I then noticed I was out of nutmeg to :( I found some all spice and threw that in. No orange zest to be had so just skipped that. I also added 4 tbsp sour cream just to be sure they would be super moist and then FOLDED THE BATTER WITH A FORK, GENTLY, TURNING THE BOWL, AS I CONTINUED TO BRING THE BATTER INTO THE CENTRE until it was just mixed. After spooning into the muffin pan, I sprinkled with a crumble topping of brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. PERFECT MUFFINS EVERY TIME... BE GENTLE. (also, no need to cut the cranberries up. They are wonderful whole as well. This is where people mess up their muffins. By beating the batter too hard with a fork (or worse, a mixer), you are removing the air from your muffin which is what makes them so moist, and rise perfectly when cooking. Keep it simple. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seattle2Sydney
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Different and delicious - especially while still warm! And my kitchen filled with a delicious aroma that smelled like cinnamon doughnuts. Rather than walnuts I added some white chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
WONDERFUL recipe though I did make a couple teeny tiny changes: (1) I did not have nuts so I left them out but they were good all the same :). (2) I did not have oranges to zest so I left them out but they still had a strong citrus flavor so I may continue to leave it out in the future. (3) I added salt, even if you use salted butter/margarine/shortening/etc always add a dash of salt to boost the flavors. (4) I added a dash of molasses to the mix to add depth to the spices. I also left out the spread as they are just fine on their own or with butter. I made a giant batch of mini-muffins with recipe to snack on :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xena91388

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suew1127
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Very good orangy taste, cranberries work great with it. They are somewhat light (which can be good) but I think I'll try some sour cream in them next time for a little more denseness. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
My son and I whipped these up this afternoon and we ate half of them still warm. We both agree that they are wonderful. We used half brown and half white sugar and 1 cup fresh squeezed orange juice. I also did not have shortning, so I used vegtable oil. They are moist and so tasty. These may be the best muffins I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Great recipe. These muffins are more on the spicy side rather than tart though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
These muffins were quite dry and overly sweet. They also needed more salt. If I make them again I will be modifying the recipe as others have reviewed and suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Seems too sweet, and too much nutmeg for our liking. maybe salt would help, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States