Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I made with the frozen meatballs. I mixed together the sauce in the crockpot, threw in the meatballs, and set on low all day. They were fantastic! We had baked potatoes and green beans with it and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaredith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TaraAnderson
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
These meatballs were really good! I changed the sauce just a bit, less bbq sauce more cranberry sauce and orange juice instead of lemon. I also browned the meatballs in a skillet before baking them. I'll be making these again as an appetizer for the holidays! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made this for a Christmas party a couple of years ago, and had numerous requests for the recipe! I am about to make it again for a potluck, and am going to take the recipe along with me, as I am sure I will have requests again! Easy to make, and you can substitute pre-made meatballs into the sauce for a quick fix! OK, so I tried using pre-made meatballs, and it was a failure... I needed a big batch, so used some pre-made and some homemade, and everyone fished around for the homemade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMJONES1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Northwest Territories, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My family had used this meatball sauce recipe for years, except we always use a jar of chili sauce instead of the BBQ sauce. It always turns out great and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbbySV

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I made this for Christmas eve. What a hit. I made again for New Years doubling the cranberry sauce for a sweeter flavor. Yummy both times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a good recipe, although I modified it slightly. I halved the recipe as 7 portions was too much food. In the meatball portion of the recipe, I didn't have soy sauce, so I used worcestershire sauce instead. The meatballs came out perfectly, nice and soft, and I cooked them in the oven as explained, but before I covered the meatballs with the sauce, I flipped them over, so they could be cooked evenly on both sides. Next time I would lower the temperature 25 degrees, as I used a pyrex pan. For the sauce, instead of cranberries, I used 3/4 cup of lingonberries and 1/4 cup of blueberry preserves. I used garlic BBQ sauce and prange juice instead of lemon juice. Once the sauce simmered and then cooked on the actual meatballs, the flavours blended perfectly. I would definitely make again and perhaps attempt a version in the crockpot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
These have become a hit in my family! The little one loves these, and she normally refuses to eat cranberries! I put in about half the required barbeque sauce for added sweetness. I've had a few parties and serviced this, and everyone just loves them - throughout the year, not just the holidays! FABULOUS! **EDIT** Just wanted to add to this review... I now make these pretty often... in a pinch for time, i'll purchase pre-made meatballs and then cook those in the sauce... HUGE time saver and still completely delicious every time!! Great quick meal to make after work too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Ok. At first, I thought they were pretty good when I tried them. But, as I ate them, they just smelled and tasted like BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
We used a bit of a spicy BBQ sauce. Our kids weren't thrilled with that. Next time we will choose a milder sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carymolyneux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this just for the heck of it and my son (10 year old) is kind of picky but he kept asking for this over and over! And I know it was a hit when my hubby (who hates cranberry sauce) says...I hate you! and laughs because he hates to admit that its good and he wants more! Would make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States