Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a pretty forgiving recipe. You can replace ingredients and adjust the recipe to your own taste and it'll be just fine. I made this for my son's preschool x-mas pot luck. But before I actually took it to the school I tried out the recipe to make sure I get it right for the actual party. I thought the sauce was just too much (too sweet and saucey). I cut bbq sauce and brown sugar to half and it was just right for me - not overrun with sauce & too sweet. I didn't have on hand of all things, ketchup. So I replaced it with some tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce, and red wine vinegar. End result: We had over 20 different dishes at the pot luck - and my boy ate my meatballs and kept on eating just that. FYI he was impartial b/c it's not the normal thing I cook at home and he had no idea who cooked what... As long as my picky son was happy, I think this dish is a success. Oh I made some extra for home. I made meatball sandwiches on a baguette and it's even better on sandwiches. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great tasting meatballs. I used frozen meatballs and made the sauce and put in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
TERRIFIC appetizer!!! This disappears pretty quickly every time I make it.... the cranberry flavor adds a nice change to the grape jelly version. I like to use a zesty bbq sauce to add extra zing... "Stubbs Spicy" is my current fave. Also, this works well with pre-made frozen meatballs if you want to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These really are something special. The only thinkg I changed was adding a few drops of Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Also, for some reason, out here in Russia you can't seem to get cranberry jam or sauce. There is, however, an abundance of "cowberry" jam, which worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kangaroo495

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Good, easy; used frozen meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The kids really like these without the sauce. Allan Self really liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very easy and a crowd pleaser. Used this for an appetizer for 15 and all really enjoyed the sweet taste. I have experminted with various flavors of barbecue sauce...find your favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Meatballs have little taste and the sauce was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this just for the heck of it and my son (10 year old) is kind of picky but he kept asking for this over and over! And I know it was a hit when my hubby (who hates cranberry sauce) says...I hate you! and laughs because he hates to admit that its good and he wants more! Would make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Didn't really care for these. Will stick to my own recipe, less ingredients but more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States