Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These came out great. I used 2 (15 oz) boxes of organic whole berry cranberry sauce, less than half a bottle of bbq sauce, and only 1TBS of brown sugar, based on the reviews. I didn't have lemon or orange juice, so I used pineapple juice. Serving it tonight over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Very good! A co-worker brought this to a pot luck and everyone was asking for the receipe including me. I'm going to make it tonight for dinner for the family to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
First off, let me just say that I am not reviewing the actual "meatball" recipe, as they are superfluous to the sauce (which is what I wanted this recipe for). If I can add this awesome sauce to frozen "homestyle" meatballs and have it taste as delicious as it does, then using any recipe for homemade meatballs would just be a bonus. I was looking for something other than the usual "chili sauce w/ grape jelly" and this recipe stood out from the crowd for me. I used Tyler Florence's West Coast Smoky BBQ Sauce (it was either his or Paula Deans) and followed the recipe to a T and it is the best sauce I've ever tasted. Even my guys, who are die-hard "gravy" meatball fans, loved it and kept asking for more! This is a no-fail awesome recipe that I will use over and over again - thanks Sarah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FleurDeLicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
It's absolutely delicious! My kids would not even touch them if there is cranberry in the sauce. Yet, I have been making them every week. Every time I make the meatballs, the kids love em'. They're always asking for more. Absolutely Delicious!!! This is a must eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This is a pretty forgiving recipe. You can replace ingredients and adjust the recipe to your own taste and it'll be just fine. I made this for my son's preschool x-mas pot luck. But before I actually took it to the school I tried out the recipe to make sure I get it right for the actual party. I thought the sauce was just too much (too sweet and saucey). I cut bbq sauce and brown sugar to half and it was just right for me - not overrun with sauce & too sweet. I didn't have on hand of all things, ketchup. So I replaced it with some tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce, and red wine vinegar. End result: We had over 20 different dishes at the pot luck - and my boy ate my meatballs and kept on eating just that. FYI he was impartial b/c it's not the normal thing I cook at home and he had no idea who cooked what... As long as my picky son was happy, I think this dish is a success. Oh I made some extra for home. I made meatball sandwiches on a baguette and it's even better on sandwiches. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Great tasting meatballs. I used frozen meatballs and made the sauce and put in slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
TERRIFIC appetizer!!! This disappears pretty quickly every time I make it.... the cranberry flavor adds a nice change to the grape jelly version. I like to use a zesty bbq sauce to add extra zing... "Stubbs Spicy" is my current fave. Also, this works well with pre-made frozen meatballs if you want to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
These really are something special. The only thinkg I changed was adding a few drops of Worcestershire sauce to the meat. Also, for some reason, out here in Russia you can't seem to get cranberry jam or sauce. There is, however, an abundance of "cowberry" jam, which worked wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Good, easy; used frozen meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
The kids really like these without the sauce. Allan Self really liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States