Cranberry Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This recipe was very good, however I was a little disappointed that the Russian dressing overpowered the cranberry flavor that I was expecting. If you're looking for a real cranberry flavor, this is not the recipe for you. Otherwise the meatballs and sauce are very flavorful. More of a sweet/sour/chili sauce flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
I made these for a shower and everybody there raved about how good they were. The meateaters there could not believe they were vegetarian and were eating these over the meat choices available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These were delicious! Being a vegetarian, I always see these at potlucks but I never could try any until now! We made the meatballs one day in advance and then heated them with the sauce the next day. (we had cut down the recipe and had it along with a fondu for a romantic dinner.) My husband liked them so much he suggested we make a big batch and freeze them to keep them handy! I would not change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
The cranberry sauce is fabulous, especially as a holiday main dish (you might want to double the sauce recipe if you like a little extra to dip in)- but don't stop there! Throw these wonderful "meat(less)balls" into tomato sauce for a sub sandwich or pasta topper - oh, the possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
My 3 year old would only eat these meatballs last christmas eve. He was the only one who liked it because of the sauce I used. I couldn't find russian dressing so I ended up getting a bottle of sweet & sour (some unknown brand that was left on the shelf, at the grocery store, christmas eve). Next time, we're going to use a BBQ sauce. The meatballs turned out great, we're just working on the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
These are so great even my meat-eating friends raved as they gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I made the sauce for this recipe and substituted turkey meatballs. Was a great success and the recipe was asked for over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Mixture came out too wet. I had to add more crushed corn flakes and crackers. It would have been helpful to add the ounces used in the veggie burgers since sizes can vary quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I was happy with the way this recipe turned out, although I did make a few changes. I used Morningstar Recipe Crumbles rather than whole patties and slivered almonds instead of walnuts because that was what I had on hand. I also substituted sweet and sour sauce for both the chili sauce and the Russian dressing called for, and used slightly less cream cheese and round crackers than the quantities given. Finally, I used Honey Bunches of Oats instead of regular cornflakes. The mixture didn't hold together well enough to be shaped into meatballs, so I ended up plopping them in the baking pan like cookies, but they tasted great. My brother said they didn't taste anything like regular meatballs, but he ate them anyway, and my mother loved the sauce. Thanks for the recipe; I will probably make it again and try it with more of the original ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
These are AWESOME!! I served them as a Thanksgiving appetizer and the meat-eaters were just as impressed. I had a hard time crumbling the patties (maybe it is just the brand I buy), so next time I think I will just buy Smart Ground or another ground beef alternative. But there will definitely be a next time!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States