Cranberry Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I was really surprised by how much I liked this quick bread! The changes I made were to use all-purpose flour, fresh mango that I pureed in the blender using 2 of the smaller and tastier yellow mangoes and I sprinkled organic cane sugar on top. I loved the crunchy topping and the texture of the inside of the bread - nice and moist. I noticed that in a couple of pieces there were small mango chunks and these pieces were particularly good leading me to believe that maybe the mango amount should be doubled with one ripe mango cut into small chunks. I would add even more fresh cranberries next time and maybe a bit less walnuts or even leave them out altogether. Very nice bread that I would make again. The orange zest is also subtle but definitely adds flavor. Thanks for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
8/23/06 Update: My first rating yesterday was 4 stars, but overnight the bread became delicious and flavorful and even more moist and tender. My Mom insisted I go back in & rate it 5 stars! FIRST REVIEW 8-22-06: I didn't have cranberries but used raspberries with good results. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup & because I only had 3/4 cup mango puree, I increased the oil to 1/3 cup; decreased the baking powder by 1 teaspoon, and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla & a couple dashes cinnamon. EVEDDER is right--the mango is very subtle; it makes a moist loaf with a nice texture, not a whole lot of flavor though. Still a nice recipe that I will make again--thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Absolutely fantastic. The texture is great, a solid loaf without being heavy or dense. The taste is superb, with no one element overpowering the others. The mango taste is subtle, but delicious. Fairly easy to make. At 259 cals per smallish slice, it's not a dieter's friend, but makes a perfect special treat. I followed the recipe to the letter except for substituting chopped cashews for the walnuts (you have to use what you got, right?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This bread turned out great. But the mango flavor was very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Not very thrilling. I used 2 mangos as suggested and waited for flavours to blend the second day. Maybe mangos are one of the fruits that dont lend themselves to baked goods. I doubt that I will make this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Thanks for this recipe! I've made it twice now. The first time I left out the orange zest and it tasted very wheaty at first followed by the cranberry taste (I couldn't taste the mango). I should note that this time I used older wheat flour. The second time I used fresh flour with a bit of orange zest (about half of what it called for). I also added about 1/3 c millet and I sprinkled a bit of turbinado sugar on top before baking. This time it was a lot sweeter. You could taste the orange first, then the cranberry. The millet added a wonderful crunch. Everyone like or loved this recipe. Also, FYI the amount of mango called for is about 1 whole mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
perfect mix of sweet and tart! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Followed recipe exactely...the mango is suptle tasting...would use 1/2 white flour next time as the whole wheat flour was just tooo wheaty of a flavor for the fruit for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wildflower Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New York, USA
Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Didn't taste much like mango to me but it was really good regardless. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 or less cup as the mangos I used were very sweet. I only added 1 tsp orange zest and was glad as that seem to overpower the taste a little. I forgot to put the cranberries so I poked a few on top before baking and covered with dough so they wouldn't burn. I left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very delisiouso! I used organic sugar. Instead of using all whole wheat, I substituted about 1/2 cup flax meal. I thawed frozen mangos and pureed in the food processor. A quick way is to food process the mangos, then the cranberries, then the walnuts to get them ready. I did not use 1 tsp. salt - that's way too much. Cut it down to 1/2 tsp. salt. I used Olive Oil instead of Canola. The top comes out crunchy. It's very good. I also doubled it and made muffins. I got two medium loafs, one large, and 12 medium muffins by doubling it. I gave them away as gifts. I brought this to church and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States