Cranberry Mango Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
This bread turned out great. But the mango flavor was very subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
8/23/06 Update: My first rating yesterday was 4 stars, but overnight the bread became delicious and flavorful and even more moist and tender. My Mom insisted I go back in & rate it 5 stars! FIRST REVIEW 8-22-06: I didn't have cranberries but used raspberries with good results. I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup & because I only had 3/4 cup mango puree, I increased the oil to 1/3 cup; decreased the baking powder by 1 teaspoon, and added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla & a couple dashes cinnamon. EVEDDER is right--the mango is very subtle; it makes a moist loaf with a nice texture, not a whole lot of flavor though. Still a nice recipe that I will make again--thanks Sue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Very moist and delicious. Costco had sliced mango on sale - short expiration date - and I pureed in the food processor. Also chopped the fresh cranberries in the processor, as well as the walnuts. The bread has a tangy/sweet taste and makes a great breakfast treat. Will definitely make again; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I made this with pecans and all-purpose flour and it was great! Mine came out with just the right texture and moisture level. I love the tartness of the cranberries. I plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
perfect mix of sweet and tart! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
very yummy! i doubled the recipe and it worked great-i will forsure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Very delisiouso! I used organic sugar. Instead of using all whole wheat, I substituted about 1/2 cup flax meal. I thawed frozen mangos and pureed in the food processor. A quick way is to food process the mangos, then the cranberries, then the walnuts to get them ready. I did not use 1 tsp. salt - that's way too much. Cut it down to 1/2 tsp. salt. I used Olive Oil instead of Canola. The top comes out crunchy. It's very good. I also doubled it and made muffins. I got two medium loafs, one large, and 12 medium muffins by doubling it. I gave them away as gifts. I brought this to church and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I altered this recipe considerably to make it semi-healthy, and it turned out quite yummy. I used the same above ingredients & measurements with the following exceptions: I split the 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour with half (1 1/4 cup)whole wheat and half all-purpose flour; I substituted the sugar, orange zest and mango with: two mashed bananas, a 1/8 cup splenda, 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, 1/4 cup orange juice; I also added 1/4 cup semi-sweet mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zory
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Didn't taste much like mango to me but it was really good regardless. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 or less cup as the mangos I used were very sweet. I only added 1 tsp orange zest and was glad as that seem to overpower the taste a little. I forgot to put the cranberries so I poked a few on top before baking and covered with dough so they wouldn't burn. I left out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Thanks for this recipe! I've made it twice now. The first time I left out the orange zest and it tasted very wheaty at first followed by the cranberry taste (I couldn't taste the mango). I should note that this time I used older wheat flour. The second time I used fresh flour with a bit of orange zest (about half of what it called for). I also added about 1/3 c millet and I sprinkled a bit of turbinado sugar on top before baking. This time it was a lot sweeter. You could taste the orange first, then the cranberry. The millet added a wonderful crunch. Everyone like or loved this recipe. Also, FYI the amount of mango called for is about 1 whole mango.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States