Cranberry Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
I don't like fruit cake, so this is an excellent substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is the best Cranberry Loaf that I have every made. It is a family favourite. Not too sweet or greasy. Thanks for a grear recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This loaf turns out really nicely. The graham cracker crumbs give a nice, not-too-sweet flavour and a beautiful brown finish. It's important to let the loaf cool for 10 minutes after taking it out of the oven in order to let the cake "set", otherwise it tends to fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
Excellent loaf, reminds you of fruitcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2003
THis is an excellent recipe. My grandmother used to make a cranberry bread that was my favorite. We have the recipe but it is missing an ingredient. This one is so close it makes me smile everytime I make it. Some have likened it to fruitcake. I hate fruitcake and to me it is not anything like fruitcake. It is great for breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
11.18.03 Edible fruitcake! Ha! Seriously, it's good! Maybe I'll even try a little pineapple & less oil next time. It's very good. I just can't leave a good recipe well enough alone. :D The only changes I made are substituting an additional 1/4c graham crumbs & 1/4c oats for the nuts due to allergy. 'Didn't have the orange rind either. Oh, well. :) A third cup oil isn't too much, but a quarter cup is fine as well. 12.12 Double recipe. 'Tried adding a can of crushed pineapple & while it wasn't bad, it wasn't better. I drained it & added enough orange juice to equal a cup. It just lessened the orange flavor, but really didn't add any pineapple flavor - even the pineapple pieces. Strange, but true! :D 'Stick with the original - for now. I'm thinking of trying blueberries or half blue, half cran.1/2012: Tried frozen homegrown (sweet) blueberries & notsogood. This bread needs a stronger flavored fruit. I couldn't find any cranberries, even frozen, so used all blueberries - & more than it states. Mostly tasted the orange & it should be an afterthought, not first impression. 'Stickin' w cranberries! Oh, I forgot to tell ya there's NO need to chop those berries. What a waste of time. As you slice the bread ... voila! 12/12/12 Tried the 1c confec, 2T oj, 1t vanilla glaze poked & poured while hot in pan. After 10, removed. More moist & sweet, but not a big flavorchanger. Good either way. Tried for dbl recipe, 3/4c oats&no addt'l gc for nuts. No dryness problem :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
I accidently made it home from the grocery store with a bag of dried cranberries. I dont know how they ended up in my bag, but since I paid for them, I checked this site to figure out what to do with them. I had all of the ingredients for this recipe. I purposely left out the raisins and zest but used o.j with lots of pulp. I loved this bread. It tastes just like the cranberry loaf they bake and sell for $8 down at our gourmet bread store in town.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was all right. I used whole dried cranberries, but chopped would have been better. This was a little too tart. Maybe next time I would replace half the cranberries with raisons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe very much. I love the addition of graham cracker crumbs! I made as directed, adding only a teaspoon of vanilla. I believe this recipe was intended to be made with fresh cranberries, rather than dried, as some reviewers have used. I made 15 muffins (baked at 350 for 20 minutes), which turned out very tender and not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
Really good... the cake part is really good also. I used way too many dried cranberries but I ate the whole loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States