Cranberry-Jalapeno Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Wish there were more stars to give!! This relish is ABSOLUTELY DE-LISH!!! Everyone asks for it a Thanksgiving - even my mother, who normally wants nothing to do with jalapenos!! A few tips: First of all, make at least a double recipe; second, use fresh squeezed OJ and lime juice - and be sure to include all of the chunky, pulpy bits. And DOUBLE the amount of juice that you use (so if you're making a double recipe, use four times the listed amount) - the dried cranberries sock the juices up very nicely... Lastly, make this at least one to two days in advance, and be sure to stif it ocassionally (try not to eat it all in the process!!) Enjoy - you can't go wrong with this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this as written, to go with a grilled turkey I made for memorial day weekend and it was the perfect accompaniment. It really is more like a cranberry salsa. I threw everything in my processer and pulsed it to the consistency I wanted, there will be a lot of juice but after sitting it will firm up. I made mine the day before and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years and I get rave reviews each time! I make the recipe for 48 servings. Everyone loves it and wants the recipe. The combination of ingredients make for a WOW factor, this has become a staple for my Thanksgiving Dinner. This recipe will remain in my family for generations to come!! If I could give it more the 5 stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I enjoyed this recipe a great deal! I've been eating it in 'lettuce wraps.' Red leaf lettuce, with chicken or turkey, and a small spoonful of relish... delicious and healthy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This has such a wonderful blend of flavors & has been a big hit each time a make it - everyone wants the recipe. I do use less cilantro (approx. 1/2 what is called for), and I chop the cranberries up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I'm not a fan of cranberries. I only made this because no one would volunteer to bring a cranberry dish to my son's school's Thanksgiving lunch, so I put my name down. Boy am I glad I did! This is a delicious dish! All the attention from the women wanting the recipe was a nice little perk as well... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Loved it. This relish really added a spark to the meal. It was great over cream cheese like chutney. I will be making this over and over. I might even add more jalapeno. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I decided to make it out of fresh cranberries. Set in the pot and boiled with orange juice and the rest of the ingredients. Added lemon juice and salt gradually, not to overdo on flavors and had to add sugar as it was just too sour. It tasted much better two days after. Tastes great with any meat or with chips. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This one's a real winner; super easy & tastes great! It holds up well in the fridge & is equally good w/ roast turkey & roast pork dishes. It's a 'keeper' in my house now! Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I made this for a southwestern-themed Thanksgiving. At first, I thought that I made a mistake by using the whole jalapeno -- it was soooo spicy, I thought it might be inedible. But after allowing it to sit in the fridge for a few hours, the flavors mellowed out and it turned out to be quite good! One word of caution: when chopping jalapeno, the jalapeno's oils can get on your skin and will cause a burning sensation which can last for hours. I recommend using those thin, clear plastic gloves to protect your hands. Those who've experienced "jalapeno skin burns" will know exactly what I mean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Indian Relish

A wonderfully sweet and spicy relish for topping crackers.

Black Onion Relish

See how to make the perfect condiment for grilling season.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States