Cranberry Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Yummy! This were really crisp and buttery! I followed the recipe except I added chopped dried cranberries and chopped dried kiwi for my Christmas colors. I didn't have any walnuts, so I used pecans. I will definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I was a bit doubtful about using fresh (or in my case, frozen) cranberries in a cookie, but they worked so well in these. My only change was to use pecans instead of walnuts. These are wonderful cookies - somewhat soft, with just the right amount of sweetness to offset the tart cranberries. I was planning on drizzling them with icing, but frankly they are perfect as is. A little orange zest or extract would work well in these, too, and I think I'll try that when I make them again...real soon! Thanks, Gloria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These cookies are wonderful! They're easy, and look festive for the holidays! The flavor is excellent, and they are perfect with a cup of tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
These were very good. I used dried cranberries and drizzled white chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANE MN
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't have cranberries, so I used dried cranberries! Very good! I also froze the dough initially. Took it out a few weeks later, thawed and baked! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is a wonderful cookie recipe. A great light cookie with good flavor. I couldn't find frozen cranberries, so I used dried and soaked them for about 30 minutes in a half/half mixture of orange juice and brandy. I dusted the finished cookie while still a bit warm with powdered sugar. I call them Winter Cranberry Cookies! I might try them next with the fresh cranberries, but I'm wondering if they soften up if not cooked first - will look for others comments about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Awesome cookies, refrigerated them over night and just delicious, had to bake them for +5 minutes though. the last roll I rolled it in coconuts and cut it into 1/4" and baked. Turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Awesome cookie recipe! I love fresh cranberries to added a bit more then the recipe asked for. Another change I made was to add a bit of fresh orange zest to taste! This change put the cookies over the top! Another thing you can do is put some crushed heath bar pieces on top of the cookie while baking! Thanks for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yellow_daisy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I am a cranberry addict and loved these! Made the recipe as stated. Halved some of the cranberries and chopped the remainder to distribute the flavor evenly throughout. Didn't leave any whole. Agree that grated orange zest would be a nice addition. Substituting dried cranberries would completely change this recipe from the original. This cookie is a great addition to my collection of icebox cookie recipes. We keep a couple of rolls of homemade cookie dough in the freezer during the holidays so I can always have fresh cookies on demand. Prevents my husband for eating all of them at once too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
These cookies are delicious as-is. In my opinion all of the additions people talked about are unnecessary. If you follow the recipe it turns out perfect! We make these every year at Christmas for my father-in-law. They are his absolute favourite and he says they remind of a recipe his grandmother used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States