Cranberry Icebox Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Yummy! This were really crisp and buttery! I followed the recipe except I added chopped dried cranberries and chopped dried kiwi for my Christmas colors. I didn't have any walnuts, so I used pecans. I will definitely save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I am a cranberry addict and loved these! Made the recipe as stated. Halved some of the cranberries and chopped the remainder to distribute the flavor evenly throughout. Didn't leave any whole. Agree that grated orange zest would be a nice addition. Substituting dried cranberries would completely change this recipe from the original. This cookie is a great addition to my collection of icebox cookie recipes. We keep a couple of rolls of homemade cookie dough in the freezer during the holidays so I can always have fresh cookies on demand. Prevents my husband for eating all of them at once too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANE MN
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I didn't have cranberries, so I used dried cranberries! Very good! I also froze the dough initially. Took it out a few weeks later, thawed and baked! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANE MN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
These cookies are wonderful! They're easy, and look festive for the holidays! The flavor is excellent, and they are perfect with a cup of tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These cookies were very good, actually better when cool than fresh out of the oven. I had some trouble getting them the right thickness and doneness -- if sliced too thin they burn, but if too thick they stay soft. Also, I stored them in an airtight container and they became very chewy. A little trouble in execution, but they taste very good all the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is a wonderful cookie recipe. A great light cookie with good flavor. I couldn't find frozen cranberries, so I used dried and soaked them for about 30 minutes in a half/half mixture of orange juice and brandy. I dusted the finished cookie while still a bit warm with powdered sugar. I call them Winter Cranberry Cookies! I might try them next with the fresh cranberries, but I'm wondering if they soften up if not cooked first - will look for others comments about this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I was a bit doubtful about using fresh (or in my case, frozen) cranberries in a cookie, but they worked so well in these. My only change was to use pecans instead of walnuts. These are wonderful cookies - somewhat soft, with just the right amount of sweetness to offset the tart cranberries. I was planning on drizzling them with icing, but frankly they are perfect as is. A little orange zest or extract would work well in these, too, and I think I'll try that when I make them again...real soon! Thanks, Gloria!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought the fresh cranberry was too tart and did not really make for a great cookie. I like tart and like raw cranberries but this was odd. My cookies also did not bake up crispy and instead were chewy. Not sure about this recipe as it did not work well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
We made ours with pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent and attractive cookie that keeps well. I also used dried cranberries. It's so nice to have a "make ahead" batch when baking several different kinds for the holidays. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States