Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These cookies in a jar are awesome! My sons and I have made them for the past 4 years as Christmas gifts for all their teachers, a few family members and we've even used them as special giveaways at holiday parties. I have gotten wonderful comments from everyone year after year. And have even gotten requests for the cookie recipe. I've made the cookies just as written. I've also left out the nuts for those with allergies and substituted the white chocolate chips for dark chocolate chips and have gotten great comments from all variations. The presentation is wonderful and so easy to put together, my boys actually do a lot of the work. The instructions for making the cookies from the jar work just fine. Don't mind the reviews that report issues with mixing butter with egg and the mixture curdling. If you have ever made cookies from a store bought dry mix, it's the same exact process. Try these cookies! And share with family and friends. You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Especially just eating the cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I make this for craft sale every year. I often substitute dried cherries for cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were just ok for me. I thought they were too salty. My family and co-workers gobbled them up, so maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K. Lea
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made lots of these for gifts. The butter has to be room temperature or you will have to do a lot of mixing by hand to soften the cookie. If too thick, add 1 - 2 tbsp milk. Check to see how mix looks, if too wet, don't any more. The kids and recipients loved this recipe. One girlfriend mentioned that the kids didn't get any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Gave these as gifts 2 years ago at Christmas - my family loved them. Thank you for such a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I received a jar as a Christmas gift, but didn't make them until the first of March. I also was afraid that because the butter/egg/vanilla didn't get "fluffy" that they were ruined. Not so! The brown sugar was also very hard and lumpy once I got it in the bowl. Instead of stirring it with a spoon, I just used my "five finger mixer" (my hand!) so I could break up the lumps. They turned out great! Looked good and tasted good. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great cookie! We added coconut..everyone loved this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coconutz26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made these as bar cookies since it is extremely humid where I live. I followed the recipe exactly except that I had to substitute chocolate chips for the white chocolate due to lack of availability. I did not like these warm, but once cool, I liked them and my husband raved about them. I used Craisins and honestly could barely taste the cranberry flavor. One comment to those adding extra chips, nuts or cranberries to make the jar full: I found the batter very thick and had to use my hands to mix it and get it to hold together. Too many mix-ins could make this barely hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Looked great, we gave them out as Christmas gifts everyone love them. I made a batch and they were AMAZING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States