Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I was expecting these to come out really devine given the white chocolate and cranberries, but they were on the border of bland. The texture was also off, too dense and not chewy or crispy, just sort of blah. The dough was almost crumbly and I felt like they needed something to add some more moisture into them. I made these how I would normally make cookies and creamed the butter and sugars first before adding the eggs and vanilla then the dry ingredients. Still didn't come out right. I think I will stick to my basic chocolate chip recipe and just add in white chips, berries and pecans instead of making these again. At least I know I'll get a likable texture from those. Good concept, but needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
i wanted to try these cookies first before giving as gifts. i followed the recipe and put all the ingredients into a mixing bowl. they spread out so thin and browned way too much before the middle was cooked. how is everyone giving this 5 stars??? i read and re-read the reviews, was i missing something? OMG i'm so stoopid...i totally missed the other 1/2 cup of flour!!! doh! i was wondering what that extra white layer was in the picture. i salvaged the remaining dough by adding flour and these cookies are fabulous. i can't wait to give these as gifts. ps. i toasted the pecans first to give it that extra pop of flavor AND no need to grease the pan or put parchment. they don't stick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
These were a hit as xmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I mixed the brown & white sugars together to help slow the brown sugar from hardening & clumping so soon. I made a choc. chip + wt chip version & choc. chip + pb chips. Both version went over extremely well with recipiants. I test drove the choc. chip + craisins version & I didn't care for it. I felt the different sweetnesses of the 2 didn't mesh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made these for Christmas gifts - but baked them not just in the jar. THey are thick and chewy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amypetersn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgewood, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made these this weekend and I think I've found a new favorite cookie! I substituted half of the white chocolate chips with regular chocolate chips. I also used brown sugar coated pecans. These are delicious and I plan to make more soon because they go fast! Also, these are a GREAT gift idea. Both our mothers really enjoyed them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAndA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I love these cookies and make them every year for my cookie trays. This recipe makes quite a few cookies if you make them small. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMegster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I had a huge problem with these spreading too much on the pan! They were thin and crumbly. I would not make these again. The crumbs tasted good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
These are wonderful. Got lots of compliments. Added fresh ginger for a little zing - excellent result. Made about 2 dozen. Will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I was looking for a cookie recipe that was not chocolate for something different. I made a huge batch of these and another favorite recipe for family and a church function. These are going way faster than the Peanut chocolate chip that have been a longtime favorite. I didn't have pecans so I used some slices almonds instead. I also added a little almond extract. The batter is really stiff. It gave my Kitchen Aid mixer all it wanted. I used a cookie scoop and gave them alittle smash. I may use a little less flour next time. Sometime I will make with pecans as that sounds good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 597) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States