Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I made these for the first time as gifts this year, I did take the advise on making them first and trying them out. I did have to add an extra egg due to my batter was a little dry and I had to cook them a few minutes longer. They are very good and I am impressed on how they turned out. My only question is when I made them for me to try I measured the flour then sifted and when I made the jars I sifted a lot of flour then measured out the flour amount. Not being a very good baker does that really matter ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I gave these as gifts. Everybody loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I gave several of these and a couple of other recipes as gifts last year. They were the best and oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
These are great cookies! In fact, I entered them into a dessert contest at work today and won! Everyone loved them. I did what another reviewer suggested and creamed the butter, eggs and sugar together first and then added the rest of the ingredients. This will be my go to cookie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this today I had to try them myself the cookies were delicious .the only thing I changed was I added 1 more egg and had to bake longer than the suggested time . I got nineteen cookies but 24 would gave been easy to get from the recipe which may have made baking time less then 15-17 min. The cookies were large and they did spread out, probably due to adding a second egg . None the less they were delicious . Now off to make some gifts !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Sorry Deb Millikan, but you can mix butter and egg, just whisk it until smooth and then mix in the sugar. Been doing it that way for about 50 odd years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
This recipe surprised me. It was so easy to make, in the jar, and would make a nice gift for someone that really does already have everything. I used a wide mouth candle jar, tied some beaded ribbon around it, and added a nice large gift tag big enough to print and paste the directions. What's nice, is the cookies actually taste pretty good from this recipe too. They are heavy on the dried cranberries, though, so just know the person they are being given to really likes dried fruit or cranberries in baked goods. I used semi-sweet chocolate, as I just find white chocolate super sweet. The full recipe using a cookie scoop yields 34 cookies, which is a good amount. The printed cookie directions are easy to follow and are possible for even a beginner baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made 50 of these as favors and as the seating chart for my October wedding. They were a huge hit! Not only did they look gorgeous on the tables, they tasted amazing too. I get requests on holidays for "the wedding cookies" and people still ask for the recipe a year later. I'm definitely gifting these to people who didn't attend the wedding this year and years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The first time I made these cookies, I had to omit the nuts due to visiting allergy sufferers. The cookies were a huge disappointment. Very bland and I was not about to give this recipe as a gift and would not rate above a two. Today I made them again with the nuts and they are soo much better. So, not sure if that made so much of a difference or what but something went wrong the first time around. I think that today, they turned out the way they are supposed to. With the recipe as written, I got 16 large cookies which took 12 mins to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Received this as a gift a few years ago, made them w/ the kids and they were terrific! Way yummier than I expected - and we make a lot of cookies around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 609) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States