Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I made twenty of these for gifts - and they look so nice, I'm not sure if I'm going to actually hand them out! For the cooking novice, note that 5/8 Cup = 1/2 Cup plus 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
826 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
The taste of this cookie is outstanding, but I only gave 4 stars because of the prep. You really can't mix butter with egg, it curdles. That's just not how cookies are made. I ruined a whole batch the first time. Next time, I layered all the ingredients as stated, except the sugars. I put them in a small zip bag and put them on top of everything. I changed the recipe card so that you cream the butter with the sugar package, then add the egg. Turned out like a normal cookie dough that way. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
645 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This was my first attempt at making a jar cookie. I just made 16 jars to give as gifts. I did try the recipe out first and it is good. It is a dry dough but bakes up soft. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips instead, I think they made them a bit salty, so I reduced the salt a bit. I wanted my jars to look fuller. So I layered the ingredients this way, bottom to top, brown sugar, white sugar, flour, nuts, chips, berries, oats, flour, soda, salt. Also just a note for anyone planning on making a bunch. 12 jars used: 5 lbs flour, 2 lbs oats, 1.5 pkg of brown sugar (32 oz) and 4 pkg chips (12 oz). I bought the nuts in bulk and bought way too may. Next time I think I will take my measuring cup to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
515 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was a great gift to give and it tasted wonderful as well! To prevent the brown sugar from hardening I mixed the brown and white sugars together before adding them to the jar. They stayed soft over a week before they were made. Another reviewer stated that egg and butter couldn't be creamed so she put the sugar in a packet. Egg and butter CAN be creamed - it just won't look the same as when you cream butter and sugar. It will look how egg and butter look together. Follow the recipe's original directions and you should get a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate G.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Great recipe! I make them all the time. I just do two things differently when I make them as jar mixes: use Domino Brownulated Sugar to avoid having the sugar get hard in the jar, and stick a small crumbled-up piece of wax paper in the top to avoid having the ingredients move around (since the recipe doesn't completely fill the jar.) I cover the top with a small piece of patterned cloth and tie with a ribbon, and you can't see the wax paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
I love this recipe!!! Tastes great, awesome textures, and it looks SO pretty in the jar with the bright red cranberries! I printed out the baking directions on cardstock and tied it to the mason jar with rafia. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I changed the name to "Cranberries in the Snow"...sounds more appropriate for the holidays and actually resembles it's name! Two suggestions, DO NOT pack down the ingedients as some other recipes in a jar require. This recipe fits in the jar just as it's poured in. Also, using a wide-mouth jar and a cone made out of paper helps kids (and adults alike) get it all in without any mess. Oh, used 7 grain flakes 'cause that's what I had, and walnuts instead of pecans (cheaper) and it tasted great! Will make this to give as gifts every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I have given cookies in a jar as Christmas gifts for 3 years now and have searched through dozens of recipes to find one better than the last. I have yet to find one better than this. I made 100 of them last year and people are STILL raving about them! They taste wonderful and look very festive in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
The kids loved making these and they were super easy for them to assemble. I switched the layers around so that the more colorful ingredients were at the bottom of the jar. The nuts, white choc chips and cranberries were at the bottom, then I packed the brown sugar and layered the remaining ingredients on top. The holiday fabric that I topped the jars with covered the flour mixture and all the "prettier" stuff was at the bottom and nothing seeped through the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Great cookie, my husband liked them bette when I rolled them into balls instead of dropping them by spoonfuls. Also, I found the mix did not fill a one liter jar, so I altered it to serve 24, fits perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I made these cookies based on all the great reviews, and I must agree!! They were very easy and fast to mix. As great as they were, I love really vibrant flavors, so I will probably take the time to find UNsweetened dried cranberries next time, and will probably add a lot more than the recipe calls for. I'm just waiting for an excuse to give this mix to someone in a jar, as intended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States