Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made these as gifts for people this holiday season, and not only were they fun to make, but they are really good! I made a batch to taste test what I was giving, and ended up eating the majority of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
As we say in Hawaii, these cookies are SO ONO (super delicious)! I just made a batch today and was so overwhelmed by how wonderful they taste! Thank you for sharing this! I substituted walnuts for the pecans because I needed a little softer nut. I will be making this a pass it on gift by sharing the baked cookies and the jar ingredients asking others to make a batch and share it with their neighbors or better yet complete strangers to spark some Christmas cheer! What better way to share Jesus? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
In theory this gift idea is great. However, the recipe did not work at all for me. (Now take into account that I am a college student and not an experienced baker by any means). I found that the butter, egg, and vanilla mixture was most likely the source of my problems. I tried twice to make it look correct, but it just wasn't going to happen. If the recipe could be perfected this would definitely get more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I made the jar, and it was super easy and looks great! Only change was I mixed the white and brown sugars to avoid the brown sugar solidifying, per other folks' cookie jar instructions. I also found out a bit late that my friend dislikes pecans, and did some quick pecan/chip swapping! Just made the recipe to try it out, despite already having gifted it, and it was really tasty! Took me a while to mix it enough by hand, but it got there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I'm curious why there are two measurements for all purpose flour? Another reviewer mentioned flakes, and that got me further confused? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Pretty good. I doubled the recipe since I'm not giving them in quart jars; I'm just baking these as part of my Christmas cookie tins. I also just made as I would usually make cookies: mix the sugar and butter together, add in the egg and vanilla, then the flour and other ingredients with the cranberries and chips last. I added the last of a bag of peanut butter chips and they seemed fine in this. These are sweet, little cookies that don't spread much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter. The presentation makes this a great gift! I wanted to verify the outcome of the cookie, just to be sure, so I made a batch for myself, following the directions exactly as they would be written for the recipient. The cookies themselves are quite good, pleasantly crisp/chewy and very flavorful! Glad I finally tried this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
These are amazing cookies! Even the name is wonderful. I will be giving these jars of mix as Christmas gifts with confidence! So tasty! I substituted the 1/2 cup all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour to add some fiber and protein. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by little temple
Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I don't really have a sweet-tooth, so I found these cookies to be WAY too sweet! I overlooked that the cranberries and chocolate chips would add to the sweetness. Otherwise I would have cut down on the amount of sugar. If you prefer savoury to sweets, I would suggest cutting down on the sugar and choc. chips portions and increasing the nut portion. I still give this 4 stars though for the novel gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
great idea - have done this before - who does 5/8 of a cup of flour? oh, thank you I read a review - 5/8 is 1/2 cup + 2Tablespoons. SW, Thornhill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 605) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States