Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I made these last year for office Xmas presents. Had I actually tried them before giving, I would have had a hard time parting with them. Read reviews for instructions on how much ingredients to buy if you are making in bulk and set up an assembly line putting in one ingredient at a time in all jars. Also, consider order of ingredients using some of the prettier ingredients at the bottom of the quart jar where they aren't hidden by any decorative top you might use. Along with the decorative top, I attached a tag with instructions for baking. Everyone raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Tastes great, awesome textures, and it looks SO pretty in the jar with! This cookies is great! People asked me for this recipe after I gave as a gift. So great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I follow the recipe as is and I love it. These cookies are always a big hit. The sweetness from the white chocolate plays well with the tartness from the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This recipe did not work for me. It calls for way too much butter or not enough flour. Something is way off here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I got this for a Christmas present and just made them. They taste FANTASTIC!! Mixing the butter, egg, and vanilla is a little messy; and it doesn't "fluff," but I just dumped the rest of the stuff in and mixed it up. I might have to give these as gifts next year. I'll definitely make the cookies again just mixing them up the regular way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Really yummy. I doubled the recipe because making 18 is hardly worth the mess! I was short 1/4 cup of butter, so I sub'd olive oil. I think that probably helped them to spread better when cooking. I also added a full cup of grated coconut. The final product was really tastey, but a little crumbley bc of my additions. I also used mini choc chips which I think helped to disperse them better. I'll definitely make them again, but I think I'll either add more salt or cut back on some of the sugar. Just my personal preference. PS- I made them for me to eat, not as gifts =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Have heard nothing but great things about this recipe when I made them as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These may very well be the best cookies I've ever made! I followed the recipe exactly as stated, but eliminated the pecans. I used orange flavored cranberries. Tasted like a Christmas cookie. I didn't need to grease the cookie sheet. Cookies took about 12 minutes to cook and they were very moist. Such an easy recipe. Great tasting food with little effort is tops in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I was actually given this in a jar with instructions attatched.it was so quick and easy to make,whipped them up on christmas eve,and they were hastily consumed and enjoyed by young and old alike on Christmas day.Only trouble was when I wanted to make another batch a few days later,I realised I didn't have the recipe.Hence had to google it(as friend was away)Luckily I found it easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made ten jars of these for Christmas gifts to coworkers and they were a hit! The texture and favors complimented each other very well plus they looked pretty in the jar. One thing I did mention on the "how to bake these" note I attached to the jars was...when mixing the butter and egg ensure the butter isn't too hot otherwise one risks scrambling the egg. (Those coworkers who aren't cooks appreciated the heads up)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States