Cranberry Hootycreeks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This cookie is like a chocolate cookie on STEROIDS. So yummy! The first batch failed because I didn't see the second 1/2 cup of flour but once I got that in they were heavenly. I put brown sugar on the bottom,white sugar,cranberries, chocolate chips,chopped pecans, mixed 5/8 C flour + 2 TBSP and 1/2 C flour, 1/2 Tsp Salt and 1/2 Tsp Baking Soda and put into a foldable sandwich bag at the top of jar and crunched up a paper towel to hold it all down tight. Came out beautifully. Makes 24 cookies when formed into balls by heaping TPBPS. 10-12 min Baking time on parchment paper at 350 degrees. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Roy Baum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet cook
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
OMG, so delicious! Didn't use any nuts because of allergies in family, and only had chocolate chips so used those instead of white chocolate, but the combination of the rest of the ingredients is so good that I immediately made a second batch to freeze and add to the Christmas dessert table. Great idea to give gifts jars of the ingredients along with the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
These are really very good. I gave them as gifts a couple of years ago, and had requests for packing-the-jar instructions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made it prior to making up jars to give away. Easy to prepare, not sure what others meant about butter and egg curdling- mine whipped together beautifully. Made 27 biscuits that were gone within a day! A perfect gift for teachers etc :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These cookies in a jar are awesome! My sons and I have made them for the past 4 years as Christmas gifts for all their teachers, a few family members and we've even used them as special giveaways at holiday parties. I have gotten wonderful comments from everyone year after year. And have even gotten requests for the cookie recipe. I've made the cookies just as written. I've also left out the nuts for those with allergies and substituted the white chocolate chips for dark chocolate chips and have gotten great comments from all variations. The presentation is wonderful and so easy to put together, my boys actually do a lot of the work. The instructions for making the cookies from the jar work just fine. Don't mind the reviews that report issues with mixing butter with egg and the mixture curdling. If you have ever made cookies from a store bought dry mix, it's the same exact process. Try these cookies! And share with family and friends. You'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
Especially just eating the cookie dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I make this for craft sale every year. I often substitute dried cherries for cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
These were just ok for me. I thought they were too salty. My family and co-workers gobbled them up, so maybe it was just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by K. Lea
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made lots of these for gifts. The butter has to be room temperature or you will have to do a lot of mixing by hand to soften the cookie. If too thick, add 1 - 2 tbsp milk. Check to see how mix looks, if too wet, don't any more. The kids and recipients loved this recipe. One girlfriend mentioned that the kids didn't get any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Gave these as gifts 2 years ago at Christmas - my family loved them. Thank you for such a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

White Chocolate Macadamia Cranberry Dreams

These soft buttery treats make terrific holiday cookies.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States