Cranberry Glop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I'm not sure what "glop" means, but it doesn't sound particularly appetizing. To the contrary, this dessert dish *is* very good. It's similar to apple crisp, but because of the tartness of the cranberries, it's has a bit of a sweet and sour vibe. The chopped pecans make it pop. Another reviewer suggested adding dashes of cinnamon on top, which would probably be a nice embellishment. We served it with French Vanilla ice cream, which was great. Whipped topping or a Cool Whip type product would also be good. After it cools, you can warm individual servings up in the microwave for 45 seconds or so for just the right warm up time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
We all loved it. It was easy to make. I made it for the guy who gave me the cranberries and the comments around him during break time at work were. "It sounds like he is having sex." He liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I had a bag of cranberries and didn't know what I wanted to make with it. This recipe was wonderful. LOVED it! I used walnuts only because I didn't have pecans. I also chopped up the fruit as other reviewers recommended. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Thank you, BRITTM! What a great recipe. My mother and I both adore it. I scale back on the amounts of sugar and butter in the recipe, and I add some cinnamon and nutmeg to the topping. I buy fresh cranberries on sale after Christmas, store them in the freezer and make this recipe all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was good. I chopped up the cranberries briefly in the food processor instead of leaving them whole. It was missing just something, so we sprinkled cinnamon on it to serve. Also we had whipped cream on top. Those two adjustments made it just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by franybanany
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
With a mix of sweet and tart, crunchy and tender, this dish made a surprisingly good dessert at a recent potluck. It was so easy and tasty, I'm making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I put the apple chunks(with peels on) and cranberries in the food processor to chop them up. Then served with vanilla ice cream as a dessert. It's like an apple and cranberry crisp but is heavy on the cranberries--which is good!!! I actually cut the white sugar down to less than a 1/2 cup. That seems strange for a dessert but the ice cream adds plenty of sugar and sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Okay recipe. I'd make it again, but don't think I'd serve it to guests. Not sweet at all, which is good. I liked eating it warm with some low-fat vanilla ice cream on top to cut the tartness. Liked the nutritional value with the fruit and oatmeal. A good breakfast food or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I wasn't really impressed with this dish nor was my family. Maybe it because we were having stuffing which was the same consistency. I did make fresh cranberry sauce just in case and boy I am sure glad I did. It still sitting in the fridge and I rarely have leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I loved it! Next time I think I will add more pecans. Really good as a dessert with ice cream too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States