Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
great! made it iver the weekend, husband loved it, I did use cream cheese, coolwhip, and pecans for topping, without the topping, it might have been a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is an excellent cranberry dish. I made this yesterday with a topping and minor changes. I used a can of jelled cranberries, a can of whole cranberries, a large can of crushed pineapple, the cherries and as per another reviewer a small can of mandarin oranges. I drained the juices from the fruit and used it for the liquid to mix with the large box of cherry jello. I omitted the pecans at this point. After cooling to set, I made a topping using one 8 oz pkg of cream cheese, 12 oz. Cool Whip, 1/2 cup sugar and a small container of strawberry yogurt. I spread this on top, garnished it with fresh stawberries and sprinkled the chopped pecans on top. DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
I made this for my diabetic grandpa who recently had a stroke and is in hospital. He loves gelatin salads. I used sugar free jello, a little less cranberry sauce, and I drained all the fruit and added an extra package of sugar free cherry jello and 3/4 cup extra water (because the fruit has sugar in it.) I poured it into mini disposable tin foil loaf pans, and bring him one every day when we see him. He LOVES it! Thanks for making his day. As a side note: I hate gelatin salads, and I can't stop eating this one...I would eat it as a dessert and can't wait to try other flavors of jello, like black cherry or wild cherry or raspberry...mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meatball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Caledonia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We are having a huge seafood christmas dinner and I new the Crans would be missed so I settled on this recipe to get it in there somehow. I added a small can of mandarin oranges I chopped, I made the other reviewers sauce and set aside, This hasn't even hit the fridge to set when my husband came by to do a (taste test), All I heard was "WOW, where you get this, This is great", So my mold will be an inch lower than it should be,(extra testers) More room for topping I guess, So This is a Huge hit and it hasn't even set up Yet, Thanks, I'm gonna make another one I see where this one is headed already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I don't eat fruit, but everyone told me this was one of the best gelatin salads they ever had. I topped it with the tangy topping that MPCHARVAT recommended. I also saved the juice from the cherries and used as part of the boiling water. I sent this recipe home with all the families that were over. They have since told me they have made it for potlucks for their work,etc and they have not brought any home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe can easily be used for a refreshing dessert. Serve with gelatin set in champagne glasses and top with whipped cream. Top with a pecan half. Use all the fruit(s)drained liquid to create a portion of the liquid required in this recipe. The flavor will be enhanced! Leave nuts out of the recipe for those who do not care for nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAZLER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
We're hooked. It was really good. I served it on Thanksgiving with the topping given by one of the reviewers here which is also excellent. I couldn't find the cherries anywhere and finally used a can of fruit cocktail I happened to have. Used whole cranberries. My sister-in-law and niece hate cranberries but LOVED it. Will make with cherries next time. Still, rave reviews from everyone. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was really good. Use the right amount of Jello - a small box is 3 oz so you need two boxes. Prepare the Jello according to this recipe directions, not the box directions, otherwise you're adding twice the amount of water than needed. I used sweet cherries packed in water and pineapple packed in its own juice to cut down on the sweetness. I also added a teaspoon of lemon juice. I used the cherry juice and added enough water to make 2 cups for the liquid. I left the pecans out. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was so yummy!! Two people asked for the recipe. I did not use the nuts. People who do not like cranberry loved this salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
better if pecans left off I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli-TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States