Cranberry Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Yum! This was very good, and I do not even like cranberry sauce that much. I made the cream cheese topping someone suggested, but it would have been delicious without it too. (I would suggest making one batch with topping and one without, the cream cheese was too sweet and heavy for some people's taste.) I accidentally dumped an entire 16 oz can of pineapple in instead of the smaller amount, but it tasted just as delicious! I added cut up peaches and pears too, and I rinsed and used the cherries from some canned pie filling since I couldn't find a can of just plain cherries- still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Took it to a Christmas party and it was snarfed down! Added one extra box of jello per Marleen's review and the topping in the review by MPCHARVAT. It was really dessert like and tasted great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I thought this was just okay. My family has been enjoying cranberries and cranberry gelatin salad for years. I lost my recipe so I thought I try something a bit different. This was not a hit and I ended up throwing away over half of it. It just didn't have the tartness we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great alternative to cranberry sauce. I too used whole cranberry sauce, accidentally bought tart cherries, 3 oz of jello, small can of pineapple, 1 cup water plus juices from the fruit and did not put a topping on. Yes it was tart because of the tart cherries but it went well with the rest of my meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This rating is with modifications. I wanted to use up a can of jellied cranberry sauce and I wanted to make a frozen dessert. I used this recipe as a template only, but it stood up great to the modifications so it's getting 5 stars. If it didn't work I wouldn't have rated it at all since my modifications were pretty major. I only had a 3 oz package of sugar free peach jello so I used that and mixed with 3/4 c of hot water, not the 2 cups the recipe called for. I drained and pressed all the juice off a 14 oz can of pineapple, used a can of mandarin oranges (well drained) instead of cherries, and added an 8 oz package of cream cheese I melted in the microwave (and stirred smooth before adding to the fruit/jello/cranberry sauce mixture.) Then I stirred in 1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut. After pouring the mixture into a pan sprayed with Pam, I crushed some walnuts over half of it and patted them in (only some of us like nuts. I marked the nut end of the pan with a marker on the handle for reference.) Then I put the pan in the freezer for several hours and topped it with cool whip before serving. Everyone in my house liked it, but we all like coconut a lot. It was creamy but chunky and had that frozen dessert texture I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wayland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving; added the topping that MPCHARVAT recommended...the family LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great recipe! I add small pecan pieces to half of it and leave half for those who are allergic or don't like pecans. If you don't want to use the cream cheese mixture topping, cool whip works well too. Whether in a jello mold or in a glass pan, the taste is fantastic! This is now a standard dish for Thanksgiving and Christmas family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
very delicious! i used cranberry/raspberry juice instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Ward Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anadarko, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
We can get cranberry gelatin here, so I used that. Do make the cream cheese, s. cream, sugar, vanilla topping. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Wow...Impressive and Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tchrstacy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Colorado, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States